More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Neverwinter Nights 2 Member Review for the PC

alpha_fish By:
alpha_fish
11/10/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER Obsidian 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Blood, Mild Language, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Having devoured the first NWN, I actually pre-ordered the sequel (something I never do) and even coughed up an extra £10 for a fancy-pants lawful good collector's edition.
However I must say I'm a little disappointed. Firstly, the graphics. I may not have the best system but I can run Doom3, Oblivion and NFS Carbon at high detail levels without any slowdown at all, but NWN2 makes it crawl through hot tar. With the sliders and details set on low the game is slow and occasionally choppy, and it actually looks worse than it's predecessor! Some serious optimisation needed methinks.
I am also disappointed with some of the bugs and missing bits of text and suchlike, for example seams of ore in caves are frequently marked Cave_Tileset_1 or something like that. In fact I am yet to discover their purpose at all, other than as a small source of XP for finding them. Sadly I suspect this is a result of what I am starting to think of at the Obsidian effect, namely where the original game (NWN, Knights Of The Old Republic) are made by Bioware, and done very very  well, and then the sequel (NWN2, KOTORII) is handed to Obsidian while Bioware concentrate on something else (Jade Empire, Mass Effect). Anyone who has played KOTORII will know what a shoddy mess of a game it is, with it's patched together story and huge gaping plot holes where bits were missed or crudely chopped out as the game was rushed to publication, and what a shame it is that a bit (or a lot) more time and effort wasn't spent creating a suitable sequel to the excellent original. I really really hope that this isn't the case with NWN2 (I haven't nearly finished it yet), but what I've seen so far is somewhat troubling.
If you can put up with poor graphics (or have an über rig) and can ignore the niggles then this is still a good game. Most if not all of the problems I have with it are patchable, so here's hoping they're fixed ASAP.


More information about Neverwinter Nights 2
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 2001 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus