More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Overclocked Member Review for the PC

By:
Ivory_Soul
05/08/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Lighthouse Interactive 
DEVELOPER House of Tales 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Great dark story, decent graphics for mid-range computers, easy interface, puzzles aren't too hard or too easy

The Bad: Not for the kids, really short, story takes forever too get really good, iffy voice acting, long character animations

Overclocked is one of those rare indie games that go unnoticed but are really good. This is a simple point and click adventure where it's so simple that you don't even use your keyboard. The game has an easy to use menu. All your items are on the bottom of your screen...that's it. You use your cell phone to record your sessions (more on that later), receive text messages, and make calls.

        You are David McNamara who is a shrink and is called to Staten Island where he has to find out what happened to five teenagers. The game also has you overlooking David's personal life wish a hard break up with his wife. The game's story doesn't really start picking up until 75% through the game. You just get bits and pieces here and there and it becomes confusing until near the end.

        Most of the game has you going back and forth from 5 different cells in the hospital recording sessions and playing them back to other patients to trigger memories. During most of these memories you have to play as the patient and figure out what to do in that memory. Some have you assembling a way to blow up a gate to escape by finding hoses, a flag, a bottle, and gasoline etc. You can also go back and forth to your hotel, a bar, and what not to trigger different cut scenes. The story does keep you in long enough until it really grabs you near the end.

        I just wish the animations for everything weren't so long though. Sometimes you'll swear the game froze up because the character will pause for 5 seconds or so before going into another animation. The graphics are also pretty good and most mid-range computers can run it on high settings. The game has pre-rendered backgrounds for this reason. The puzzles are pretty neat and aren't too hard to solve really. If you can't figure out a place to look you can hold down Space and it will show you every place on screen you can investigate. Overall Overclocked is great for fans of story telling and/or PC adventure games. This game isn't for kids though because it is a very depressing and gory game. I would check this out if you have nothing else to do. Unfortunately, I couldn't finish the game because I played 3 chapters I didn't save, and my game froze so I just uninstalled it. I didn't get to see the ending, but I wish I could have.


More information about Overclocked
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 791 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution