More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Pacific Storm Member Review for the PC

Tylzen By:
Tylzen
07/16/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Buka / GMX Media 
DEVELOPER Lesta Studio 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Control the events that took place in the Pacific during WW2.

Will you lead Japan into victory against the evil Americans?

Or will you have the finger on the red button that will unleash hell on Nagasaki and Hiroshima.

If so, this is your chance...

Available on Steam

I found this game in Steam and it looks interresting, not state of the art graphics, but playable. Not everything is graphics.

Steep learning curve...

The game has a tutorial, but even with that, it is very hard to master the micromangament of the campaign part. If you don't want to play out the campaign of USA or Japan during the WW2, you can chose to just play out various scenarios, or easily create your own.

Massive battles...

If the total war series master ancient warfare, then Pacific storm master the WW2 strategy/arcade genre. Several hundreds airplanes, tens of huge ships that is engage in massive combat.

Involve yourself...

It is also possible to take the seat of a fighter pilot or an anti-air gunner. The steering is arcade and makes it a lot of fun to fly around in the battlefield and try and change the course of battle. The japanese can even activate kamikaze ability and steer into their death, making massive damages on the ships. You can also do this with the Americans, but you need to steer themself then :)

Sound

It is not very impressive, it does what it needs too, creates a decent atmosphere.

Try the demo

You can check out the demo from Steam.

It is a must have if you like massive strategy games like Total War and Hearts of Iron.

There has also been released a new version of the game Allies and Axis as I recall.

I give it a B-, mostly because of its steep learning curve and lack of good sound.


More information about Pacific Storm
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 671 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution