More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Planescape: Torment Member Review for the PC

TheVaultDweller By:
TheVaultDweller
12/17/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Interplay 
DEVELOPER Black Isle 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Blood, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I know, I know, Im writing this review several years after the release of the game, but I thought what the hell, I liked Planescape Torment, and probably no one will ever read this, so I'll just do it.
Well, first, the thing that made Torment stand out, and still makes it: the dialog options are just beatiful. I can't say it in any other way. Ever played those never ending boss battles in Final Fantasy? Here you've got boss dialogues.
Beautiful dialogues means you've got beautiful choices, and I mean extremely evil or extremely goodie, and adding the lawful/chaotic stuff to this gives as a result the greatest RPG choices you'll ever see, together with Fallout 2.
The story is excellent, among the best in gaming history, and the uncovering of the personal history of the main character via its companions absorbed me.
The graphics are incredibly dated, the cinematics make your eyes bleed, but in spite of this, this was the most immmersive game I've ever played.
Its much like reading a good book, with the difference that you choose how it advances. It involved much reading, and that was what made it special; reading the narrations, the response of NPCs as you threatened them, as you sold your companions into slavery, sacrificed them in HELL to save your hide (I must confess that being evil was great fun) made up for some of the best gaming experiance Ive had.

More information about Planescape: Torment
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1395 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution