More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Planescape: Torment Member Review for the PC

TheVaultDweller By:
TheVaultDweller
12/17/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Interplay 
DEVELOPER Black Isle 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Blood, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I know, I know, Im writing this review several years after the release of the game, but I thought what the hell, I liked Planescape Torment, and probably no one will ever read this, so I'll just do it.
Well, first, the thing that made Torment stand out, and still makes it: the dialog options are just beatiful. I can't say it in any other way. Ever played those never ending boss battles in Final Fantasy? Here you've got boss dialogues.
Beautiful dialogues means you've got beautiful choices, and I mean extremely evil or extremely goodie, and adding the lawful/chaotic stuff to this gives as a result the greatest RPG choices you'll ever see, together with Fallout 2.
The story is excellent, among the best in gaming history, and the uncovering of the personal history of the main character via its companions absorbed me.
The graphics are incredibly dated, the cinematics make your eyes bleed, but in spite of this, this was the most immmersive game I've ever played.
Its much like reading a good book, with the difference that you choose how it advances. It involved much reading, and that was what made it special; reading the narrations, the response of NPCs as you threatened them, as you sold your companions into slavery, sacrificed them in HELL to save your hide (I must confess that being evil was great fun) made up for some of the best gaming experiance Ive had.

More information about Planescape: Torment
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1436 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus