More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Planescape: Torment Member Review for the PC

TheVaultDweller By:
TheVaultDweller
12/17/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Interplay 
DEVELOPER Black Isle 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Blood, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I know, I know, Im writing this review several years after the release of the game, but I thought what the hell, I liked Planescape Torment, and probably no one will ever read this, so I'll just do it.
Well, first, the thing that made Torment stand out, and still makes it: the dialog options are just beatiful. I can't say it in any other way. Ever played those never ending boss battles in Final Fantasy? Here you've got boss dialogues.
Beautiful dialogues means you've got beautiful choices, and I mean extremely evil or extremely goodie, and adding the lawful/chaotic stuff to this gives as a result the greatest RPG choices you'll ever see, together with Fallout 2.
The story is excellent, among the best in gaming history, and the uncovering of the personal history of the main character via its companions absorbed me.
The graphics are incredibly dated, the cinematics make your eyes bleed, but in spite of this, this was the most immmersive game I've ever played.
Its much like reading a good book, with the difference that you choose how it advances. It involved much reading, and that was what made it special; reading the narrations, the response of NPCs as you threatened them, as you sold your companions into slavery, sacrificed them in HELL to save your hide (I must confess that being evil was great fun) made up for some of the best gaming experiance Ive had.

More information about Planescape: Torment
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1336 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution