More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Rome: Total War Member Review for the PC

Mojomike232 By:
Mojomike232
02/20/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 6 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Creative Assembly 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This probably the greatest RTS game I have played as of date, but it does have a few minor flaws.

The way I experienced this game was that I was extremely addicted for the first 3 weeks, but after that, I lost interest, and will probably pick it up later again. This game is best served in doses, it is structured in a somewhat repetitive manner so a person who is not a die-hard RTS fan might lose interest. Interest could also be lost by the extremely complicated systems and features behind this game. But that shouldn't stop them form buying this game, as it will still provide great entertainment, just in doses.

And that is virtually the only problem I have with this game, it is, as I said, the best RTS I have ever played and a must have for any RTS fan. Looking at the campaign map portion of the game, movement is designed ingeniously and is easily executable. The resource management can be a little overwhelming at first, but once you get control of it you'll be set for managing an empire. A few parts of the campaign portion are confusing and have a steep learning curve, but the depth of enjoyment you get from these features once you learn them will far surpass the troubles taken to learn them. There will be the regular needs and strains of making an empire that is reflected beautifully in R:TW.

The battles in this game are magnificient. Whether ambushing in the woods or sieging a castle, you get a rush of excitiment from the huge scaled battles. Troop management is very easy and practical. My only gripe with this is the repetitive nature of the battles, they can get very boring, especially when the cities all look the same. Otherwise the battles are very interesting.

Overall this game is almost a must have for any game collection, but some features of it such as resource management, repetitive battles, and a steep learning curve will lost interest for some groups of gamers. But, I still suggest this for anyone looking to put a little time into a game. You can just look at its applications from being use in History Channel shows, and see it just might be the best historical RTS if not the best RTS made to date.


More information about Rome: Total War
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1656 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus