More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Rome: Total War Member Review for the PC

Mojomike232 By:
Mojomike232
02/20/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 6 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Creative Assembly 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This probably the greatest RTS game I have played as of date, but it does have a few minor flaws.

The way I experienced this game was that I was extremely addicted for the first 3 weeks, but after that, I lost interest, and will probably pick it up later again. This game is best served in doses, it is structured in a somewhat repetitive manner so a person who is not a die-hard RTS fan might lose interest. Interest could also be lost by the extremely complicated systems and features behind this game. But that shouldn't stop them form buying this game, as it will still provide great entertainment, just in doses.

And that is virtually the only problem I have with this game, it is, as I said, the best RTS I have ever played and a must have for any RTS fan. Looking at the campaign map portion of the game, movement is designed ingeniously and is easily executable. The resource management can be a little overwhelming at first, but once you get control of it you'll be set for managing an empire. A few parts of the campaign portion are confusing and have a steep learning curve, but the depth of enjoyment you get from these features once you learn them will far surpass the troubles taken to learn them. There will be the regular needs and strains of making an empire that is reflected beautifully in R:TW.

The battles in this game are magnificient. Whether ambushing in the woods or sieging a castle, you get a rush of excitiment from the huge scaled battles. Troop management is very easy and practical. My only gripe with this is the repetitive nature of the battles, they can get very boring, especially when the cities all look the same. Otherwise the battles are very interesting.

Overall this game is almost a must have for any game collection, but some features of it such as resource management, repetitive battles, and a steep learning curve will lost interest for some groups of gamers. But, I still suggest this for anyone looking to put a little time into a game. You can just look at its applications from being use in History Channel shows, and see it just might be the best historical RTS if not the best RTS made to date.


More information about Rome: Total War
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1618 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution