More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast Member Review for the PC

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
02/23/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast: PC

Genre: Action, FPS

Players: 1

Producers: LucasArts?

ESRB: T

Reviwed By: Lakerol 2/23/07

 

The StarWars franchise is like a big giant Bantha, that sometimes craps out some really horrible titles, and sadly some games turn out to be nothing but Bantha fodder, yet not all SW games are horrible. Jedi Knights II: Jedi Outcast is one of the select few that delivers.

While not as well known as KOTOR, or dissapointing as Empire at War, Jedi Outcast blows away anything that comes close with a deep storyline, gameplay and use of all the force powers a hungry Sith lord could want.

Like most of the StarWars expanded universe, the main Character Kyle Katarn has nothing to do with the original three movies. This does not stop Lucasarts from developing another popular main character that has interactions with some of the classic chracters, such as Mon Mothma, and Luke Skywalker.

StarWars fans rejoice!  Jedi Outcast delivers some sweet gameplay, weapon use and a incaptivating story line. Our hero, is duped to believe that his hunny, Jan has been killed by a rouge Jedi. So instead of acting rationally, our not to bright hero, goes forth, and slowly becomes an uber evil/kinda good jedi.

With some helpful lessons from Luke, in the art of Jedism.  Kyle slowly regains his old abilites with the force, and after visiting Valley of the Jedi, he supercharges himself with dead jedi mojo.

While the game does have some problems with random bugs, the autosave features pretty much solves this problem.  The graphics are nothing less than what true SW fans have come to expect. With smooth transition from FPS to 3rd person view for classic SW lightsaber combact.

While I would rather use my Jedi powers to destroy all the crappy reviewers on this site, Kyle uses his powes to jump, push, and pull his way to victory.  Playing this game requires most players to hot key force powers, since you will be pulling many weapons away from helpless lackeys.

On a sidenote, I found the game somewhat realistic in the sense of when cutting off a Stormtroopers hand, resulted in a stumpy, glowing forearm. Way cool.

There is some puzzle solving, but kyle will spend most of his time cleaving his way though wave after wave of Stormtroopers, Pirates, and a few Dark Jedi.  Fun.

This game, without a doubt, is one of the best SW games on the market.  Enjoy this game for as long as possible, and maybe someday, we will be rewared for our patience with Jedi Outcast: III

Pros: Its part of the Dark Forces Series! Awesome!

Cons: Some bugs

Pros: Storyline, graphics, force powers, better than Jedi Academy!

Cons: Older game, so might be difficult to find.

 

Final Note: As I stated before, This game is one of the best SW games on the market. If you can find it, buy it.  

 


More information about Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 2443 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution