More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance Member Review for the PC

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
03/08/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER LucasArts 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

 

Old School, this game is.

Ever since the Xwing came out for the old Win95 platform, I fell head over heels for StarWars Flight SimsSW: X-wing Alliance is really no different from its really old ancestors.  The game still centers on the Rebellion and the Empire, and the galaxy caught in an epic struggle of freedom. Instead of following a nameless grunt though campaigns for the Republic, the storyline follows a family of merchants and their life though the events of the Star Wars movies.

Graphically, this game is old.  Not many pretty things about it.  Still, compared to the Xwing/Tie Fighter games that I grew up with, this game is the pinnacle of all the others before it.  Smoother flying using different ships. From the old YT-1000, to using the good ol' Aluminum Falcon... Oops, wrong movie.

While the graphics are designed by an older time, the storyline shines though. Humor, emotion, and events abound, draw the gamer into an unfaultable experience.  The last mission will make any SW fan orgasm... How often does a player get to fly down the gullet against the Death Star?

While most gamers will be turned off by the older graphics, and how the Flight Sims franchise has pretty much faded into history.  Veteran gamers will find this old game a nice reminder of an era of history that is sorely missed.

Pros: This game rocks... An old Flight Sim that still has some teeth.

Cons: It’s old. And many people will find this game outdated.

Pros: Game has plenty of ships to use, from no-names ships to the Bwing and Xwing... and beyond.

Cons: This era has faded into history. Sad, but this was the last game made in the series.

Final Note: As a serious Flight Sim fan, I'm disappointed in the fact that this genre is basically outdated and useless as a 386 with Win95 on it.  But, times change, and maybe in the future, a brave programmer will try to revive this old platform.

 

 


More information about Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1647 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus