More Reviews
REVIEWS Dungeon of the Endless Review
A roguelike that’s equal parts charming and challenging with a turn-based twist.

Fantasy Life Review
Level-5 has always had a gift for creating endearing worlds and characters, but who thought living with a butterfly would be such an adventure?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Vainglory Preview
Multiplayer online battle arenas have grown in popularity, yet Super Evil Megacorp hopes to give the franchise new, vibrant life on tablet. I went hands-on to find out if it can be done.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 5 Ways Persona Q Is a Crossover Done Right
Etrian Odyssey meets Persona with results much better than expected.

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

StarCraft: Brood War Member Review for the PC

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
01/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Blizzard 
DEVELOPER Blizzard 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

I remember first buying the expansion pack for this game when it came out 7 years ago. My first thought was, "Wow, look at all the purty new units!"

$40 bucks was alot of money back then, and after a few presidents, wars, and a country thats futher plunging into trillions dollars of debt, I still miss my money.

BW is very similar to the first SC game.  There are stll the familar three races, each with their new units and upgrades.

Some of the heros are still aviable, and some new characters have been introduced.  Each with ablities similar to past characters of the first game.

Bilzzard has kept up their level of detail in this game. Wonderful, if not scary, FMV's and a more darker storyline than the last game. Alot of player favorites die in this game. Nerds will be pissed off. Voice acting still sounds the same, with the protoss sounding as sweet as always.  The humerous Southern Drawl of the terrans as been replaced with Russians. Go Figure.

I've always enjoyed how the producers did the voice acting for the Zerg. How can you tell a high paid actor... "I need you to growl and make snarling sounds, then turn your head and cough."

As its muiti-million parent, this game is designed for muiltplayer. The new units, and the improvments to the game give the expansion more options for on-line play. Besides, the single player compaingn can easly be compleated in a few days.

The most frusterating part of the game, is not graphics, gameplay, or interface....

It is a spoiler in the game, about the sequl that was suppose to come out.  This game hinted heavly towards a sequl that would have a combination of the zerg and protoss species.

I'm thinking this was a hint of StarCraft: Ghost.  **Which was cancelled.... After many years of Blizzard dicking around

Other than the dissapointment of a spoiler that was about a game that never came about; and knowing that Blizzard was focusing on Warcraft: III and Word Of Warcraft instead, Brood wars is a good expansion to a great game.  Its sad to see that the StarCraft games were pushed over for something that generated more money, and Brood Wars was left out in the cold.

 


More information about StarCraft: Brood War
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1225 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution