More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

StarCraft: Brood War Member Review for the PC

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
01/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Blizzard 
DEVELOPER Blizzard 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

I remember first buying the expansion pack for this game when it came out 7 years ago. My first thought was, "Wow, look at all the purty new units!"

$40 bucks was alot of money back then, and after a few presidents, wars, and a country thats futher plunging into trillions dollars of debt, I still miss my money.

BW is very similar to the first SC game.  There are stll the familar three races, each with their new units and upgrades.

Some of the heros are still aviable, and some new characters have been introduced.  Each with ablities similar to past characters of the first game.

Bilzzard has kept up their level of detail in this game. Wonderful, if not scary, FMV's and a more darker storyline than the last game. Alot of player favorites die in this game. Nerds will be pissed off. Voice acting still sounds the same, with the protoss sounding as sweet as always.  The humerous Southern Drawl of the terrans as been replaced with Russians. Go Figure.

I've always enjoyed how the producers did the voice acting for the Zerg. How can you tell a high paid actor... "I need you to growl and make snarling sounds, then turn your head and cough."

As its muiti-million parent, this game is designed for muiltplayer. The new units, and the improvments to the game give the expansion more options for on-line play. Besides, the single player compaingn can easly be compleated in a few days.

The most frusterating part of the game, is not graphics, gameplay, or interface....

It is a spoiler in the game, about the sequl that was suppose to come out.  This game hinted heavly towards a sequl that would have a combination of the zerg and protoss species.

I'm thinking this was a hint of StarCraft: Ghost.  **Which was cancelled.... After many years of Blizzard dicking around

Other than the dissapointment of a spoiler that was about a game that never came about; and knowing that Blizzard was focusing on Warcraft: III and Word Of Warcraft instead, Brood wars is a good expansion to a great game.  Its sad to see that the StarCraft games were pushed over for something that generated more money, and Brood Wars was left out in the cold.

 


More information about StarCraft: Brood War
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1179 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution