More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

StarCraft: Brood War Member Review for the PC

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
01/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Blizzard 
DEVELOPER Blizzard 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

I remember first buying the expansion pack for this game when it came out 7 years ago. My first thought was, "Wow, look at all the purty new units!"

$40 bucks was alot of money back then, and after a few presidents, wars, and a country thats futher plunging into trillions dollars of debt, I still miss my money.

BW is very similar to the first SC game.  There are stll the familar three races, each with their new units and upgrades.

Some of the heros are still aviable, and some new characters have been introduced.  Each with ablities similar to past characters of the first game.

Bilzzard has kept up their level of detail in this game. Wonderful, if not scary, FMV's and a more darker storyline than the last game. Alot of player favorites die in this game. Nerds will be pissed off. Voice acting still sounds the same, with the protoss sounding as sweet as always.  The humerous Southern Drawl of the terrans as been replaced with Russians. Go Figure.

I've always enjoyed how the producers did the voice acting for the Zerg. How can you tell a high paid actor... "I need you to growl and make snarling sounds, then turn your head and cough."

As its muiti-million parent, this game is designed for muiltplayer. The new units, and the improvments to the game give the expansion more options for on-line play. Besides, the single player compaingn can easly be compleated in a few days.

The most frusterating part of the game, is not graphics, gameplay, or interface....

It is a spoiler in the game, about the sequl that was suppose to come out.  This game hinted heavly towards a sequl that would have a combination of the zerg and protoss species.

I'm thinking this was a hint of StarCraft: Ghost.  **Which was cancelled.... After many years of Blizzard dicking around

Other than the dissapointment of a spoiler that was about a game that never came about; and knowing that Blizzard was focusing on Warcraft: III and Word Of Warcraft instead, Brood wars is a good expansion to a great game.  Its sad to see that the StarCraft games were pushed over for something that generated more money, and Brood Wars was left out in the cold.

 


More information about StarCraft: Brood War
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1246 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus