More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Strong Bad's Cool Game For Attractive People Member Review for the PC

By:
Ivory_Soul
11/20/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Telltale Games 
DEVELOPER Telltale Games 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Great dialog and writing, interesting story, great characters, nice art style

The Bad: Playing the actual game can be a nightmare, extremely short, dialog needs more mature humor

Everyone knows Strong Bad from their famous song on Guitar Hero II!!! What you never heard of them? Well, that's ok we all forgive you, but now's your chance to meet the almighty only-cool-enough-to-look-at-unless-you're-an-attractive-women and sometimes known as "Flexapecs" Strong Bad. The game's main attraction is the crazy humor and the nice graphic style. The game is basically a flash point & click adventure where you try to show off your Strong Badiness by making Homestar (the town's "Cool Guy") look like a total jack @$$. With great voice acting to support these neat characters the basic game play element always stays the same: Click on this thing, hear what Strong Bad says, laugh, wonder around aimlessly trying to figure out where to go next with no hints, rinse and repeat.

     My biggest gripe is the fact that you never really know where to go and most of the game is really well...a guessing game. You slowly unlock different locations and warping to these places on the fly is easy via your map. Go around collecting special items and even take photos! But seriously, even though the game has strong humor it doesn't save the game play. Just double click and hold the mouse button to make Strong Bad run here, go into your inventory and try to make certain things work, but I guarantee most of the time you'll resort to a FAQ. The beginning of the game starts out easy enough where you just follow the plot of the game then about half way through it lets go of your hand and you sort of get lost in everything. Trying to spoil Homestar's fame isn't really easy since it takes lots of different running back and forth to and fro collecting things to make this work over here. With no quest log or anything like that you never know what to do and there are really no hints to help you. Some parts of the game I didn't even know existed until I resorted to a FAQ and that was after over an hour trying to figure out where this one inventory item goes. Trying to go around experimenting isn't really fun and makes you really annoyed and frustrated.

    With all of that aside the game's dialog and writing is hilarious and fits the characters very well. The humor is more random, stupid, and full of bathroom jokes more than witty and smart. This works just as well and somehow the game pulls it off cleverly without making you feel you're playing something lame. I just really like all of the details that went into this game like the Snake Boxer 5 mini-game, all of the extra dialog when you talk to someone more than once. It just really makes things that much interesting. Now this is meant for young teens and kids so there is no mature humor even though you'd expect it from these kind of characters. I really feel these characters should have been given more mature dialog, but what's here works and works well if you can get around the annoying hunt & seek. I really do recommend this game on the Wii or PC because you'll love the hilarious dialog, great art style, and funny characters.


More information about Strong Bad's Cool Game For Attractive People
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 530 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus