More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Team Apache Member Review for the PC

BigTruckSeries By:
BigTruckSeries
04/06/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 98- 98 
PUBLISHER Mindscape 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Violence, Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

TEAM  APACHE was definitely one of my favorite games from Windows 95.

The controls made the game...they were scaled down considerably to make the game accessible to people with different equipment.  At the time, I had a Microsoft Sidewinder with force feedback.  The force Feedback helped you to "feel" the wobbling resistance of the rotors  and did an excellent job creating tension feel.  Of course, my favorite factor was being able to "feel" missiles  come off the rails and machine gun rounds leave the barrel.

Unless you have a pair of flight sim rudder pedals, or a joystick which allowed you to twist it, YAW action felt a little sloppy.  It also became slightly problematic to land the helicopter unless you had a good joystick/throttle/pedal system.  Less than perfect landings usually meant a destroyed aircraft.

One of the silly aspects of the game was that you had to complete missions to earn points to repair the aircraft. WRONG:  reapirs come from tax payer money and there is no shortage of that !

As for enemies, having to engage tanks and other helicopters felt realistic, but the graphics of the time made foot soldiers look like little block men with only 2 points of articulation - their arms and legs. The little guys were also wayyyy out of scale with everything else around them.

OVERALL, it was a great game, fun and offered alot to the budding flight sim player.


More information about Team Apache
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 670 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution