More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Sims Member Review for the PC

By:
scoh
06/25/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sim 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Maxis 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Comic Mischief, Mature Sexual Themes, Mild Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The open-endedness of the game was fantastic, personally I love those open games where there's really nothing to do or goal that's handed to you as soon as you start up the game. I prefer the ones (like this) that you can decide on your own if a relationship is worth missing work for, if your kids should be studious or slobs, if you want to advance your career, or if you just want to take the slow and easy route to a monstrous house.

Unfortunately, the lack of variety of types and variety within types of items let me with a feeling that there was a very narrow path that you could take while designing your house and furnishing it. (the future expansions/online downloads helped this tremendously.) There was also a lack of variety in jobs I felt...although you could pick jobs ranging from subway musician all the way to military recruit...but there's really only a dozen or so careers you can really choose from which also narrows the "open-endedness" of the game.

 

+open-endedness
+player decides goals
+lifestyle decisions

- - lack of variety of items and variety within types of items
- few career choices
- fairly narrow considering the small changes that would have made this a very open-ended game


More information about The Sims
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1457 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus