More Reviews
REVIEWS The Last of Us Remastered Review
Sony and Naughty Dog have revisited the PlayStation 3 opus to bring an enhanced vision of the game to PlayStation 4, but should you return to Joel and Ellie’s story so soon?

God of War Collection (Vita) Review
God of War brings its PS2 heritage to Vita, and the results are more than a bit baffling.
More Previews
PREVIEWS UemeU Preview
Giving the power to the players to build the games they want to play, UemeU opens up the sandbox to a larger degree than previous games, with intuitive tools, cooperative building, and very few restrictions.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14

MotoGP 14
Release date: 09/01/14


LATEST FEATURES Sorry, I Can't Review Hypothetical Content
Yet another disturbing trend in review reactions: people begging to consider imaginary content.

Buy, Try, or Die: August 2014 Release List
Sacred 3, Disgaea 4, inFamous: First Light, Madden NFL 15—what will you Buy, what will you Try, and what needs to Die?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

The Witcher Member Review for the PC

Sodbuster By:
Sodbuster
03/15/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER CD Projekt Red 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

3scapism, let me just say, your review was one of the most fun reviews I've ever read.  Your prose is legendary, your grammar perfect, your English the work of a million Shakespeares.  Now, let me write the average man's review.

This game is fun.  Let me tell you all, I just finished it for the first time about an hour ago.  The ending had me yelling out loud "Yeah! Kick his ass!"  I was transported to a possible apocalyptic future, forced to fight a sorcerer/blademaster on his own terms, and then, after destroying him, forced to fight Death Himself.  What followed was one of the better fight scenes I've ever seen, leaving the game open for a sequel of course.

We've all heard about the problems with this game.  Yes, there are crashes.  Yes, there are glitches.  Yes, there are times when you have no idea what to do next.  But let me remind you of a game called Daggerfall, which, despite its numerous glitches, crashes, and bugs, received an A grade from this very site.  The Witcher reminds me in some ways of Daggerfall.  While it is not as open-ended, it has the same gritty, dirty feel that the game by Bethesda did.

On my rig, which was top of the line about 3 years ago, I was able to run this game at medium settings.  It's no Crysis, but it is a beast nonetheless.  In some of the more massive fight scenes there was notable slowdown, coupled with delayed reactions that had me clicking to attack a second before the actual attack took place.  I, however, refused to lower my settings as this game is absolutely lovely.  Do you remember standing on top of a hill in Oblivion and being able to see for miles?  This game has those same scenic vistas.  Yes, the load times are atrocious, but the first patch out helped fix those dramatically.

As for the "Sex Cards..."  Well goddamn, finally a game in which my corny lines got me somewhere.  I, for one, enjoyed the little side quests whose only reward was my character getting a piece of ass.  More power to him I say.  The cards never actually showed anything R rated, and there's definitely more nudity in Mass Effect, and WAAAAY more nudity in the aforementioned Daggerfall.  It was just fun to see a bikini-clad wood nymph and talk my way into getting into her "pants".  You know you want to try it.

I feel like I could play the game again from the beginning and have an entirely new experience.  From the start, choices are made that will affect the game far down the road.  The main struggle in the game is between humans and nonhumans (dwarves and elves).  As a Witcher, you are neither, and so you must choose between taking a side and remaining neutral.  Any of these choices really do affect the outcome of the game.  I plan on playing through it again and choosing to help the nonhumans this time.

So, to sum up, I give this game an A-.  It was fun.  I will play through it again, despite the first play-through taking more than 60 hours.  It crashed to desktop a few times, and there were other times when I just didn't know what my next goal was, but those are the breaks.  I really, really enjoyed this game.

And FYI, I'm 25 years old, and I've been playing RPG's since I was seven.
Good luck to you all,
Sod


More information about The Witcher
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1074 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution