More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

The Witcher Member Review for the PC

Sodbuster By:
Sodbuster
03/15/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER CD Projekt Red 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

3scapism, let me just say, your review was one of the most fun reviews I've ever read.  Your prose is legendary, your grammar perfect, your English the work of a million Shakespeares.  Now, let me write the average man's review.

This game is fun.  Let me tell you all, I just finished it for the first time about an hour ago.  The ending had me yelling out loud "Yeah! Kick his ass!"  I was transported to a possible apocalyptic future, forced to fight a sorcerer/blademaster on his own terms, and then, after destroying him, forced to fight Death Himself.  What followed was one of the better fight scenes I've ever seen, leaving the game open for a sequel of course.

We've all heard about the problems with this game.  Yes, there are crashes.  Yes, there are glitches.  Yes, there are times when you have no idea what to do next.  But let me remind you of a game called Daggerfall, which, despite its numerous glitches, crashes, and bugs, received an A grade from this very site.  The Witcher reminds me in some ways of Daggerfall.  While it is not as open-ended, it has the same gritty, dirty feel that the game by Bethesda did.

On my rig, which was top of the line about 3 years ago, I was able to run this game at medium settings.  It's no Crysis, but it is a beast nonetheless.  In some of the more massive fight scenes there was notable slowdown, coupled with delayed reactions that had me clicking to attack a second before the actual attack took place.  I, however, refused to lower my settings as this game is absolutely lovely.  Do you remember standing on top of a hill in Oblivion and being able to see for miles?  This game has those same scenic vistas.  Yes, the load times are atrocious, but the first patch out helped fix those dramatically.

As for the "Sex Cards..."  Well goddamn, finally a game in which my corny lines got me somewhere.  I, for one, enjoyed the little side quests whose only reward was my character getting a piece of ass.  More power to him I say.  The cards never actually showed anything R rated, and there's definitely more nudity in Mass Effect, and WAAAAY more nudity in the aforementioned Daggerfall.  It was just fun to see a bikini-clad wood nymph and talk my way into getting into her "pants".  You know you want to try it.

I feel like I could play the game again from the beginning and have an entirely new experience.  From the start, choices are made that will affect the game far down the road.  The main struggle in the game is between humans and nonhumans (dwarves and elves).  As a Witcher, you are neither, and so you must choose between taking a side and remaining neutral.  Any of these choices really do affect the outcome of the game.  I plan on playing through it again and choosing to help the nonhumans this time.

So, to sum up, I give this game an A-.  It was fun.  I will play through it again, despite the first play-through taking more than 60 hours.  It crashed to desktop a few times, and there were other times when I just didn't know what my next goal was, but those are the breaks.  I really, really enjoyed this game.

And FYI, I'm 25 years old, and I've been playing RPG's since I was seven.
Good luck to you all,
Sod


More information about The Witcher
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1251 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus