More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Unreal Tournament 2004 Member Review for the PC

Tyrranis By:
Tyrranis
11/30/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 32 
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER Epic 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

This game is so Unreal!

Unreal Tournament 2004, being the latest in the legendary Unreal Tournament series, has quite a reputation to live up to. The first Unreal Tournament was an astounding success, due to it's ease of control, extra-ordinary weaponry, breathtaking graphics and unmatched gameplay. The fact it was simple to mod, yet challenging to mod well probably helped too.

Well, Unreal Tournament 2004 brings that all back in a whole new style. Looks like body armour is in fashion once again.

In UT2004, the gameplay is the same as in UT99. Get a gun, blast some limbs off other people, get yourself blown up, rinse and repeat. What's different is how you do it. In UT2004, there are several new weapons, as compared to UT99. The grenade launcher launches small balls of explosives that attach to walls, floors and other players. Press the button and these balls explode, causing much pain to anyone nearby. The lightning gun is another version of the sniper rifle, but is easier to follow back to the shooter, as it uses a very distinct lightning arc to get those headshots.

But, you'll only see it if you keep your eyes off the levels. This UT uses an entire new game engine as far as I know. I am unsure as I never saw the UT2003 engine. But, from the gap between UT99 and UT2004 graphics, they must of been pretty good. For, UT2004 is the best looking game that I know will run on my machine (barely). Everything is so shiny, it will likely be a shock to new players, or those who also jumped directly from UT99 to UT2004.

The next shock they'll get will be when they see the game modes. Assault, Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, Team Deathmatch and Last Man Standing all return, but the new ones are a real eye-jerker. For starters, there's Double Domination, where the team's fight to control two points on a map. There's Mutant, where everyone goes after one player, who has lots of cool powers. Invasion sees the players teaming up to take on waves of enemys from Unreal I. But it's the final mode, Onslaught, that will get the most attention.

In Onslaught, two teams try and take Powernodes littered all over the map in order to make a chain of their team's Powernodes that links their Powercore to the enemies Powercore. Then they try to hold that chain while trying to blow the Powercore to dust. Where the action lies is in the maps themselves. They are HUGE! And, what's more, the travel time between nodes is cut down by the introduction of vehicles.

Yeah you read that right: Vehicles.

Now your rampages of ultimate destruction can be done in style and comfort. The vehicles range from buggys with side blades, to hovercraft with plasma guns and even tanks and jeeps. No matter what you want, it's probably in there. On some maps, there is even a giant mobile fortress called a Leviathan. This monstrocity has all the offensive power you need. When deployed, a GIANT FRICKIN LASER CANNON pops out, ready to vapourise anything you don't like the look of.

Well, almost anything. The only down factors I can find for UT2004 are that it doesn't include Geo-Mod technology and the rather large system specs. For those who don't know, Geo-Mod is the technology in Red Faction that allows you to blow open the walls. This would prove to be benificial to the game, as it would allow you to create alternate routes in CTF maps and such. Then again, I wouldn't be complaining about this if I had never of played Red Faction, so it's not much of a loss. The system specs of UT2004 mean that you are most probably going to need to update to get it running OK, unless you have already updated for something like Halflife 2 or Doom 3.

But, once you get it running, then this is a spectacular game. Looks like Unreal is going to dominate the online servers once again. Hail to the King baby.


More information about Unreal Tournament 2004
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1885 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution