More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Black Member Review for the PS2

Tyrranis By:
Tyrranis
04/17/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Criterion 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Gun Ho!

You know, the FPS genre is a little over-crowded these days. What with all these WWII shooters, sequels and other titles, the genre is losing the luster it used to have. Everyone's putting so much emphasis on the scenery, plot and realism that it seems that they've all forgotten about what makes an FPS what it is: the guns.

Fortunately, Criterion hasn't. Say hello to a game that puts the focus of the genre specifically on the tools of whoopass you are given. Say hello to Black.

Black is actually the first ever FPS outing for acclaimed masters of the Burnout universe Criterion. They revolutionised the racing genre (albeit taking 2 sequels to really nail it), and now they seem to be doing the same thing to FPS, in their now trademark style: with a lot of stuff blowing up.

The story kicks off in a prison cell. Your character is in jail and is being questioned by one of the 'higher ups'. Every so often, you'll go into a flashback and these are the levels you play. It's a bit disjointed, really.

Just like everything else, though. Black features some of the most destructive environments I've seen since Red Faction. Cars blow up, machinery explodes and entire buildings topple from a single explosion. The uses for such explosive materials is limited only by your timing. Time it right, and a single mine can explode, setting off a chain of mines, blowing up a large gas tank, taking out multiple enemies at the same time. Why someone would set mines like that is beyond me, but when the result is that explosive, I don't care.

Especially when everything looks this good. I haven't seen wreckages look this good in a long time. From the gritty look of an intact tank, to the armor on the enemies, to even the shine off the barrel of your gun, you'll have a hard time finding something that doesn't look good before or after you've blown it up. In keeping with the idea of having the guns as the main focus, the screen blurs while reloading, whilst your gun stays in focus, allowing you to check out the totally sweet reloading animation.

And there's a lot of them. You are given a great range of weapons throughout the game, from pistols and sub-machine guns to belt-fed machine guns and even an RPG. Although you can only carry two guns at one time, that's more than enough to take out any enemies. Especially considering that you can carry 500+ ammo in reserve for most weapons.

All of which you'll need. The enemies in Black are over-powerful, in that they take a whole lot of ammo to drop. The shotgun wielding guys are even tougher than the standard enemies and take about twice as much ammo as the others. The riot shield ones are tougher still, unless you can navigate around their shield. If you can manage a headshot, though, you can drop anyone with a single bullet. Still, no matter who you're fighting, you can expect a challenge.

But not a mental challenge. The game is rather a simple one: shoot the bad guys, don't shoot the good guys. Every so often you'll get an objective where you have to blow up something, but that's pretty much it.

The enemies aren't that smart either. Most of the time they'll just stand out in the open shooting at you, hoping you won't shoot that explosive barrel/mine/tank/car they're standing next to. The shotgun guys are even worse, charging you no matter where you are. The riot shield ones are a bit smarter, using their shield to block your shots, but they can still be fooled.

This really takes the game down a notch, considering that they're all you'll be fighting, as Black is without any other game modes aside from the main story mode. No challenges, no time attacks, not even a multiplayer. Still, what can you really add in terms of extra game modes to a FPS?

Despite these flaws, I would rank Black as one of the more rewarding games I've played in a while. It may not be that 'rule-all' FPS genre topper that Criterion wanted, but it's still a firm kick up the backside, adding new life to the faded genre. With a few modifications, we could be onto a winner here.


More information about Black
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1370 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution