More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening Member Review for the PS2

Tyrranis By:
Tyrranis
11/23/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Dante is quickly becoming the mascot for the PS2. At least, I hope he is. With such a badass as a mascot, it would really help PS2 sales. Plus, he ain't going nowhere. Dante is here to stay on the PlayStation series of consoles, again, I hope.

However, the road of the demon warrior has been a bumpy one. We call those bumps Devil May Cry 2, easily the worst of the series. However, Devil May Cry 3 is not as bad as Devil May Cry 2. Being a blend of the first two, it combines the errie castle-like setting of the first game, adds some of the more spectacular moves from the second and then, a whole bunch of new innovations are piled on. For, there is a lot of stuff in Devil May Cry 3 that are brand-spanking new.

The melee weapons are new. Note that I said 'weapons', and not 'swords'. For, you get not only a sword and some gauntlets, but also a tri-chuku (think nun-chucks, but with three wooden bits) and an electric guitar to fight with. Wait, what? An electric guitar?!? I know, I didn't use it much either.

The guns are new. Well, some of them are. Alongside the staple pistols and shotgun that have provided a lot of enjoyment over the series, you get a high powered precision rifle and a rocket launcher. Yeah, you read that right, a ROCKET LAUNCHER.

I don't like what they did to Dante, though. Sure, the immaturity has been there for a while, it hasn't been this obvious before. Dante is like a child in this one. Although in some cutscenes this does get into trouble (note: taunting a giant three headed dog by calling it a talking puppy will lead to bodily injuries) and it is cool in some scenes, it does get annoying eventually.

If you last that long. Devil May Cry 3 is the hardest game in the series by far. In the first one, I was stockpiling yellow orbs like they were nothing. Now, you'll lose them as if they were invisible. Dante does some wild risks in the cutscenes, like ride a missile like a skateboard, but once you get control, his health bar drains faster than something that drains really fast.

But that just adds to the fun. For, if it wasn't challenging, it would be a pushover, and pushovers are not fun. I like a challenge. But, with this one I seriously thought I had bitten off more than I could chew.

But nevermind, as Devil May Cry 3 is a rewarding experience, if only to get that damn rocket launcher.

More information about Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening
 
comments powered by Disqus