More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII Member Review for the PS2

Mr_Piddles By:
Mr_Piddles
12/31/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square-Enix 
DEVELOPER Square-Enix 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Mild Language, Use of Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

         I'm not gonna lie, It's not a bad game.  But it could be much better.  Square-Enix did a real good job animating this game and it looks great,  the downside being the gameplay not being so great.  To be blunt, this game is tedious.  You will often find yourself shooting the same bad guys and doing the same type of missons over and over again. The game does have a neat weapon customization system which allows you to design the weapons to best fit the needs for any situation.  You could customize a rifle with a scope and a long barrel to eliminate enemies from a distance or a machine gun with a short barrel and fire materia (Functions like a gernade) for those up times you find yourself conoroutnumbered .  But sadly, those were the only times I used any gun besides the pistol. Also, the game only allows you to carry up to three guns at a time, further encouraging you keep to a common set of a pistol, machine gun, and sniper rifle combination.  On a good note, Dirge of the Cerberus does have a decent story line, and it did keep me interested long enough to play the game all the way through.  A warning to all you Final Fantasy Fanatics out there seeking that long RPG that will keep you occupied for 70 hours plus some, the game is really short.  I managed to play the game all the way from start to finish in one sitting.  So, it's not gonna fill that hole in your heart that FFVII left.  It may give you a slight buzz, but you'll still feel empty after your done.  My recomendation to all gamers that would want to play this game.  Rent it, dont buy it.

                

                                       Vincent with his long barreled pistol,  The Cerberus

                                                                                                              (Image taken from Gamespy.com)


More information about Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 1584 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution