More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII Member Review for the PS2

By:
sephiroth666
04/14/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square-Enix 
DEVELOPER Square-Enix 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Mild Language, Use of Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I'm sure everybody is now getting tired of fanboys bigging up the latest addition to the "Compilation of Final Fantasy VII" But unfortunately, i also am going to disagree with the official review and say that DOC Rocked My Freakin Socks.
To begin, the storyline was intricate and well written and as it unfolded before me it felt like i was scratching off a scratchcard revealing more and more lustrous storyline. Certainly DOC could have done with at least 1 twist or turn like: Vincent is Sephiroth's daddy.
At some points in the story i felt like saying "Yes i know" to the screen, because a lot of Mr. Valentine's past was revealed during FF VII and in the backstory, but this would in no way make me NOT want to play the game. That would be like a fan of the original FF VII refusing to play the fabled remake of FF VII just because they know what happens.

Story: 8.5/10

Graphics.
Just when we thought that the ps2 was an old veteran that constantly pissed itself and looked all clunky and crap (graphics wise) Over comes Dirge Of Cerberus (and, off on a tangent, FFXII)
With it's stunning graphics and fast loading times, this game gave the ps2 a bit ofyouth, until the newer model kicked it aside -_- (as you may tell i'm a360 fanboy to whom the ps3 appeals as much as a Wii)

Graphics: 10/10

Gameplay
Verry straightforward, no real difficulty but it is still awesome to play, the thing one must always remember is that this game is all about the story, hence the many hours of amazing cutscenes. Although the Customability of the weapons is quite impressive as is the scoring and level system.
Gameplay: 6/10

Overall
Who has played Final Fantasy VII or watched Advent Children and NOT wanted to delve into the enigma that is Vincent Valentine? Who has not wanted to know what Chaos looks like in great graphics? Sure, perhaps DOC would have made a better RPG, but you cant fault Square Enix for experimenting, and in truth, this game was ultimately Square's ultimate experiment. one that has come off quite successfully.

Overall: 7/10


More information about Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII
 
comments powered by Disqus