More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening - Special Edition Member Review for the PS2

Tyrranis By:
Tyrranis
06/23/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Re-worked, re-done and re-released!

One thing the PC has over consoles is the expansion pack. Developers on PC can just add some new units, a handful of new buildings, slap it onto a CD and make millions. Of course, there are those who do not abuse the right of expansions, such as Westwood Studios did later in their lifespan with Command & Conquer Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge, and Relic Entertainment's Dawn of War expansions.

But console games don't do expansions that well, which is why we just get 'Special Editions'. Like this one.

Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening - Special Edition by Capcom, is in all forms, the standard version of the game with a little tweaking and some new goodies added for good measure. Some of the additions seem a little 'forced', but otherwise it's a good game.

The game kicks off... actually, I'll skip this bit, as the game's plot is exactly the same as the original version. No, seriously. I'm not kidding. The only differences between the standard game and the Special Edition (SE) is that Normal and Hard modes are easier and that there's a new boss. The difficulty thing itself deserves many praises, as many people (myself included) found the difficulty level of the standard game to be ridiculously too high. I couldn't finish the game. I got up to Mission 18 of 20, and gave up when I found the room where you have to fight all the game bosses aside from Vergil again. With the SE, I got through the game in 3 days. That's a serious difficulty decrease.

What's more, I can't even pinpoint how they did it. Subtle, yet completely game-altering? Awesome.

The new boss, though, isn't that awesome. At certain points, you get teleporters pop up. These take you to a mandatory boss-fight with Jester. Honestly, it just feels 'added at the last minute'. Even his speech during the fights feels tacky, as you'll recognise almost everything he says from a cutscene. It's that bad.

But, by far the most appealing aspect of the Special Edition that will attract gamers like a swarm of hungry locusts to a corn field is the ability to play as Vergil himself, in all his demonic splendour. Vergil controls a lot like Dante, except that Vergil, instead of having guns like Dante, simply summons swords to throw at people. This frees up the L2 button for switching between the three kinds of melee weapons Vergil has equipped at all times. Having three kinds of melee weapons at your fingertips, getting that SSS style rank is significantly easier.

That's not to say Vergil is without flaw. The main gripe I have with Vergil is that they didn't create a specific campaign for him. All they did was swap out Dante for Vergil in the original campaign. They didn't even swap out Vergil in his boss battles for Dante, which means you'll be fighting yourself three times over the progress of the game. It's fun, but it's not accurate.

Then again, is it really fair to complain that they didn't change any of the awesome gameplay? Playing as Vergil simply adds a new method of laying some half-human, half-demonic smackdown on some pathetic demon underlings. Plus, being able to match Vergil move-for-move in his boss battles is rather entertaining. Honestly, this game is one of the two I have found so far that you would be too embarrased to play in public because you'd be talking to the screen too much. "No, THIS is how you do that combo correctly!" *slice*.

Once you've finished the campaign, you can go into the other extra they added to the game: Bloody Palace. That's right, the one (and only) redeeming feature of Devil May Cry 2 is now in Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening - Special Edition. It works relatively the same as the DMC2 incarnation, except that you get bosses every 1000 levels or so, instead of on every 10th level. I guess it's because the bosses in DMC2 were basically enhanced enemies instead of full-blown DMC worthy bosses.

For those of you who do not currently own DMC3, or have destroyed their copy of the game out of sheer frustration, then this game is definately worth getting. However, for those of you who DO have a fully operating copy of DMC3, then you'll be struggling to find a reason to buy this update.

More information about Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening - Special Edition
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1581 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus