More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Drakengard Member Review for the PS2

PsychoSavager By:
PsychoSavager
01/07/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square/Enix 
DEVELOPER cavia 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

How can a game made by Square, that allows you to control a dragon and take out hordes of enemies turned out to be such a failure? I don't know, but let's take a look....

Note: I did not complete this game and so my review is based purely on what I did play of it. But I doubt it would have got much better later.

Graphics

The game's graphics are not up to PS2 standard. The enemies and scenery are horribly undetailed, and the landscape is totally bland. The FMVs are okay, but given that Square made the Final Fantasy games, I know they can do better.

Story

Drakengard's story falls neatly into stereotype RPG cliches along with a totally forgettable hero. The story didn't grip me enough to keep playing, and given that's one of the selling points of an RPG, that immediately deprives it of any recognisability.

Music

I don't normally mention music in my reviews unless it's particularly good or bad. Guess which one Drakengard falls under? I'm pretty sure the game's music is a 10 second sample set on an infinite loop, which gets very annoying very quickly. Ironically it's perfectly suited to the gameplay - repetitive and horrible.

Gameplay

Fights take place in real time, outside of a battle mode, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but in this case, it was. The game simply consists of hack and slashing your way through hordes of badly programmed enemies. The game's lack of AI is noticeable even to a beginner - enemies charge into you with no attempt to defend themselves, making them very easy to dispatch.

You can also control a dragon and fly around the level, but this just consists of breathing fire on troops of soldiers, who are just as easy to kill from the air. Who would have thought flying and breathing fire could be so little fun?

Granted there are a variety of weapons which get upgraded as you use them. Not that it makes much of a difference; your enemies are easy enough to kill as it is.

Lifespan

I have no idea how long this game is as I didn't complete it (generally I aim for 100% completion on any game) but seeing as I sold the game after completing the first level, this should give you an idea of how long you can expect to play it.

Conclusion

I got this game for free when I bought MGS3, and the only use I found for it was selling it and buying a better game with the money. There is no fun to be found in this wreck of a game.


More information about Drakengard
 
D Revolution report card
Views: 912 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus