More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Escape From Monkey Island Member Review for the PS2

By:
Mutations
11/08/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER LucasArts 
DEVELOPER LucasArts 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Comic Mischief, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

Pirates! Grog! MONKEYS!

There was two video games that I grew up on, they were Punch Out on NES, and Curse of Monkey Island on PC. So when I was scanning games to play I saw a new Monkey Island game. Schweet, I thought. Schweet indeed.


It all starts of where Curse left off. Wanna-be pirate Guybrush Threepwood and Governor of Melee Island Elaine Marley just got back from they're honeymoon. Since they were gone for so long (several years) the town assumed that they were dead, and are trying to destroy their house. Elaine's governor job is being taken over my a Zombie-Ghost- Pirate LeChuck, Guybrush's old enemy.
Hilarity ensues.

Gameplay: Gameplay for this game is so-so, you walk up to an object if you can do anything with that object, it gives you a list of what you can do. Later in the game the gameplay get's harder. You have to look closer, in a certain part of the game entitled Monkey Combat (Mortal Combat) you have to learn different styles and moves, in a lake navigation game you'll have to grab a pen and paper and write stuff down, you'll have to learn how to operate a strange machine that gives you medical reports of the prothesis variety, andlearn how to make a good story. Once you get the hang of it it should flow pretty easily.
Fun: This game is so fun that I have permission to create a new word. This is the funnest game ever. With spoofs and jokes ranging from Starbucks to the J.F.K. Assasination, ( I'm serious they make fun of it) a game of Insult Arm-Wrestling with Ignatius Cheese, a pink boat,an evil-zombie-ghost-pirate, and all the TMs you will ever need.

Other: Graphics in this game are sketchy. I would've liked to see the animated graphics of the other games used in this, but in cut scenes they use what they have, and they make it look good. The music in the game is catchy, in scenes where you play very long. Let's just say they're not so catchy anymore. And the voices, perfect.



Bottom Line: This is a must have for gamerswho like a good puzzle, and fans of the series will worship this game. One word of advice though. Paitence. It's gonna be a long time 'til Lucas Arts makes another one of Guybrush's wild adventures.

Gameplay:9/10
Just as you start to question the gameplay, they give you a new variation of gameplay.

Graphics: 8/10
The 3-D graphics are new to the series, but Lucas Arts used them well.

Sound: 9/10
Great music and voices. Greater things that come out of those voices.

Fun: 10/10
You will finish this game, without food, without standing, shaving, bathroom, social interaction, and going outdoors.

Overall: 9/10

More information about Escape From Monkey Island
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1341 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution