More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Final Fantasy X Member Review for the PS2

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
02/26/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square 
DEVELOPER Square 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Final Fantasy X: Ps2

Genre: RPG

Publisher: Square

Developer: Square

ERSB: T

Reviewed by: Lakerol

2/26/07

 

Its always good to know that every year or so, the folks at Square put their collective minds to work, and belch out another sequl to past year Final Fantasy game.  I'm sure they have their motives... Money, power, fame, Moogles in high goverment offices. No matter what the outcome of their diabolical plans, we,  owners of the dying Ps2, are rewarded with another FF game.

From a gamers poing ot few, FFX is an old game.  It already has its own un-offical expansion, plus a few decendants that are carrying the FF mantle.  While most people can easly pick this game up for a few dollars, most of us, who have played the game, are still oogled by this games slick graphics, awesome combat system, and sheer detailed movies.

 Like all FF games, you are given a male character that acts like a female, and looks like one as well.  Later on, you meet up with more females that look and act... like females!  Like most guys, I like eye candy. Thus, I was not dissapointed by some of the curves and lines in some of the chick characters.  What did erk me, was the almost liner gameplay.  Yes, there are sidequest galore, but most of them, you can't even think about doing, till the end of the game.

FFX is a beautiful game, with plenty of playable characters, a re-amped battle system, with a unique leveling system that puts a breath of fresh air into an old series.  Sadly, this as all been done before.  Each FF game has put its own stink on a certain aspect of the game, FF7-Materia, FF8-Juncting Magic, and so on....

The biggest aspect for this game, was the fact it was designed for the PS2. All the pretty movies gave this game alot of power, and hype.  Not to mention the beautiful levels, and detailed graphics.

Yes, the game is liner, yes it has all been done before, but Square has made up for these flaws with an explosion of sheer graphics that are all powered by the PS2 impressive processor.

Pros: Lovely movies and Graphics... Eye candy galore!

Cons: Males STILL look like females.

Pros: New battle system, and leveling.

Cons: Its all been done before...

Final Note: While FFX is one of the prettiest games aviable, it still falls short of some major elemts... Liner gameplay, weird character design, and no multplayer. Still, FFX is one game that everyone should have in their game liberary.

 


More information about Final Fantasy X
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1073 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution