More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

God of War II Member Review for the PS2

UglykitteN By:
UglykitteN
03/16/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Sony Santa Monica 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

The Gods Have Spoken


Too many games fall to the deadly "Sequilitis" and very quickly become a bore.  While so many games deserve to have a sequel, they all too often fall well short of expectations.  The developers/producers know they have about 90% of the fans from an original game, so innovation is usually left on the back burner, if even included at all.  Sure, you could add a few new characters, a new plot, and a bonus or two...but what about growth?  I don't just want to see the same character in a new suit.  I want something NEW.  Something fresh.  I want to be drawn into the game all over again.  If you just give me leftovers with a little more parsley garnished, I’ll order take out.  With much anticipation, God of War II was released.  And thankfully, this God won't disappoint.

Without giving too much away from the plot, Kratos gets betrayed by a God, and then is stripped of his powers.  With his army destroyed and his wounds still fresh, Kratos begins a quest to regain his lost powers and take down yet another famous God.  I don't know about the rest of you, but if I saw a man pull apart a zombie soldier with his bare hands, I wouldn't want to get one his bad side.  Oh well.  I guess that's why I'm not omnipotent.

This game has yet to let me down in any way.  The graphics are still top notch.  Everything has the look and feel that you would expect it to.  The boss battles still pack the same punch (and with the first battle, I do mean PUNCH) as they did before.  The fighting seems to have gotten a slight upgrade and is just as fast and furious as before.  The killing blows are just fantastic.  I won't give away much, but they way Kratos takes down a griffin has YET to not make me laugh a little.  Thankfully, all of the brutality from the first game has found it's way here.

Unfortunately, there are still flaws.  Why there is no multi-player is beyond me.  Clearly, a two-player story mode would be hard to pull off, but try something new.  Give me a way to enjoy this game with a friend.  Any kind of arena mode would be a blast.  The fighting system is amazing so adding on a tag-team mode would be superb.  How cool would it be to have two people using each other as a weapon to take down a giant Cyclopes, or charge head long into a wave of cannon fodder, racking up 200+ kill combos.  The possibilities are endless.  This is definitely long over-do, but isn't a deal-breaker by any means.

Overall, this game is just as fantastic as it's predecessor.  Like many people, I was waiting for this game with a nervous-anticipation.  What I feared was getting a sloppy, rushed, unpolished tacked on game.  Thankfully, Kratos is back and hasn't lost a bit of shine.  This is a must buy for all fans of the first game.  This may be one of the last few good games to grace the PS2, and thankfully it's one sweet trip.


More information about God of War II
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 2714 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus