More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

God of War II Member Review for the PS2

supersonicjoker By:
supersonicjoker
03/24/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Sony Santa Monica 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

WHOOOOAH Once again God of War delivers!!!

So I've been sitting around really wanting some new great game to play on my 600 dollar PS3 machine.....but you know the deal right now with the scarce games so it hit me......this thing is backward compatible (yes i sold my ps2 cause i was done with old-gen).  So this revelation of backward-compatibility provided me the inspiration two purchase two games I had yet to play because they were made for the PS2 and I had pretty much given up on the old-generation.  I had closed that caskett.  But opened it back up to grab a few last bones.  Enter....God of War II.

The first God of War was one of if not My ALL TIME Favorite Games.  I loved it.  It blew me away.  You mean this little machine could pump out and support these graphics?  Wow!!  Also the guy at EB Games today told me that GOW2 had a Progressive Scan option (also has a widescreen option) which he says makes it play in 720p.  Now my TV stayed on 480p so I'm not sure where he's getting the 720p thing but anyway it looks fine.  In fact it looks freakin amazing in some parts.  Some of the effects had my mouth hanging open and shouting in amazement and fun!! 

If you like mythology and that sort of thing even better.....this game makes me feel like I am Kratos and I'm involved in this great mythological tale.  The brilliance of this game to me is the story-line and action/gameplay go so perfectly together (and I'm not even near done yet....I'm only a couple of hours into the campaign).  So few games really have an intriguing story.  It seems the story is always a by-product often times just an excuse to pummel opponents. 

In my mind similarities come up with Prince of Persia's newest releases but POP doesn't come close to this game in my opinion...nor does POP come close to the first GOW.  But there are similarities in the gameplay.  There are so many combinations of moves in your arsenal it's amazing.  You know, I was bummed when I heard this game was only being released on PS2 and not PS3.....and I'm still bummed that's the case.  But at least I can play this on my PS3 and it is a helluva lot better than most of the made for PS3 games that are available right now.  To call Dark Kingdom next-gen over this game is a freakin joke.  I would love to see this thing pumped up to 720/1080p and some extras thrown in version for the PS3 but I will settle for what I've got and be happy.  It's a damn fun game and it's the best game purchase I've made for my PS3 since Resistance and ICON and Motorstorm.  To me it's the 3rd best EXCLUSIVE PS3 title even though it was made for PS2.  That should tell you something. 

I can't wait to get into it tomorrow and get deep into the story and action even further.  The Son of Ares beckons me to guide him into this tale of revenge and blood of action and destiny and I will guide his blades into the hearts of the gods and feel the victory flow through my veins.........play this game my friends and feel the power too!!!


More information about God of War II
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1686 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus