More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

God of War Member Review for the PS2

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
02/22/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Sony 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

God of War: PS2

Genre: Action

Players: 1

Producers: Sony

ERSB: M

Reviewed: Lakerol, 2/22/07

 

Its funny to think that Sony, producers of the biggest flop, the PS3, could make a game that can show the how good the PS2 still is.  With the biggest war between the Wii and PS3 entering the middle ground, and with God of War II just around the coner, the orginal, God of War still holds some serious ground.

God of War is a serious game for the most hardcore of players. The ERSB rating is there for a reason. After 20 min of playing this game, I knew, I had found my game. This game is soaking in blood. And its never felt so damn good.

There is carnage a plenty in the game, you play the role of Kratos, a pissed of Spartan with problems, who decides to kill the god who made him. Wow, sounds fun, right?

It is. Get ready to spend the next few months of your life, killing everthing from Hydras, to minators, to the god of War himself.

The storyline itself is set in Greek mythology, following the death of Krato's family, friends, and about everthing he held dear. The diety resposible? The god of War, hence the name. While the storyline is not greatest, and the game is liner, with no mulitplayer, the amount of stuff to kill makes up for these small flaws.

The graphics on this game are nearly flawless, from the Titan who crawls forever in the desert, to the markings on Krato's face, all are renended impressily with the PS2 processor.  Even the movies are worth all the killing, the wonderful killing.

If you ever wanted a game to kill something, this would be it. Did I mention the killing? Thats what you do thought this whole game. Sure, you talk to people, learns some crap about the greek gods, and some minor puzzle solving. Yet, this game thrives on bloodshed.

Fun as this game is, it does get old after a while. I would have loved to see this game on muiltplayer, but thats something we might have to see if the second game has.  Also, bonus quest would have been a good addititon. Pretty graphics and a sweet storyline are fun, but two times though GOW, and your ready for the next installment.

Even though the game is short, beatable in about a day or so, and even with the Challanges of the god, with sweet unlockables, this game still is pretty liner. Even with some noticable flaws like these, this game still shatters some boundaries set for the PS2. 

This game still holds a place as being one of the best games for the PS2.

 

Pros: This game is probably the best game for PS2, that and Okami.

Cons: Liner, and no Multiplayer

Pros: Its graphic to the extreme.

Cons: Whens the second game commin out!?

 

Final Note: If you were only to buy two games this year. Make one of those games God Of War.  You won't be dissapointed.

 


More information about God of War
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1818 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution