More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

God of War Member Review for the PS2

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
02/22/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Sony 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

God of War: PS2

Genre: Action

Players: 1

Producers: Sony

ERSB: M

Reviewed: Lakerol, 2/22/07

 

Its funny to think that Sony, producers of the biggest flop, the PS3, could make a game that can show the how good the PS2 still is.  With the biggest war between the Wii and PS3 entering the middle ground, and with God of War II just around the coner, the orginal, God of War still holds some serious ground.

God of War is a serious game for the most hardcore of players. The ERSB rating is there for a reason. After 20 min of playing this game, I knew, I had found my game. This game is soaking in blood. And its never felt so damn good.

There is carnage a plenty in the game, you play the role of Kratos, a pissed of Spartan with problems, who decides to kill the god who made him. Wow, sounds fun, right?

It is. Get ready to spend the next few months of your life, killing everthing from Hydras, to minators, to the god of War himself.

The storyline itself is set in Greek mythology, following the death of Krato's family, friends, and about everthing he held dear. The diety resposible? The god of War, hence the name. While the storyline is not greatest, and the game is liner, with no mulitplayer, the amount of stuff to kill makes up for these small flaws.

The graphics on this game are nearly flawless, from the Titan who crawls forever in the desert, to the markings on Krato's face, all are renended impressily with the PS2 processor.  Even the movies are worth all the killing, the wonderful killing.

If you ever wanted a game to kill something, this would be it. Did I mention the killing? Thats what you do thought this whole game. Sure, you talk to people, learns some crap about the greek gods, and some minor puzzle solving. Yet, this game thrives on bloodshed.

Fun as this game is, it does get old after a while. I would have loved to see this game on muiltplayer, but thats something we might have to see if the second game has.  Also, bonus quest would have been a good addititon. Pretty graphics and a sweet storyline are fun, but two times though GOW, and your ready for the next installment.

Even though the game is short, beatable in about a day or so, and even with the Challanges of the god, with sweet unlockables, this game still is pretty liner. Even with some noticable flaws like these, this game still shatters some boundaries set for the PS2. 

This game still holds a place as being one of the best games for the PS2.

 

Pros: This game is probably the best game for PS2, that and Okami.

Cons: Liner, and no Multiplayer

Pros: Its graphic to the extreme.

Cons: Whens the second game commin out!?

 

Final Note: If you were only to buy two games this year. Make one of those games God Of War.  You won't be dissapointed.

 


More information about God of War
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1813 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution