More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80s Member Review for the PS2

By:
GameGuyPete
07/31/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Harmonix 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Lyrics

What do these ratings mean?

Seeing all of the advertising for Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80s really makes me mad. I'm not necessarily mad at just Activision for delivering what is the most expensive expansion disc ever sold-- but I'm also mad at myself for caving into the hype and shelling out $50 for what amounted to about three hours of play.

Let's clear this up early: Again, Guitar Hero Encore is not a full game. It may be priced as one. It may be packaged as one. It isn't, though. The game's setlist contains less than half of the tracks that Guitar Hero II offered (30 tracks, to be exact) and offers sparse unlockables, which puts a serious dent in the single-player campaign.

What Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80s does is offer more guitar-playing goodness, even if the 80s theme may not be universally understood or endorsed by the series' fanbase. There are certainly some good tracks here, and even a couple of challenging ones... but many of the songs of the 80s didn't have the types of guitar riffs and solos that series veterans have come to expect.

Unfortunately, the quality of the covers (performed once again by Wavegroup) is inconsistent. I dare you to listen to the original version of Asia's "Heat of the Moment" and then listen to the cover in this game. It's not even close. What's worse, the vocal work can be painful... play Winger's "Seventeen" for an example. Ugh. This is not to say that all of Wavegroup's work is bad here; there's a pretty convincing version of Billy Squier's "Lonely is the Night" and a decent workup of Quiet Riot's "Bang Your Head (Metal Health)" . There are some master tracks here as well, including "I Ran" by A Flock of Seagulls and a later-recorded version of Twisted Sister's "I Wanna Rock". On a lame note, there's also an inclusion of a master track by Limozeen called "Because, It's Midnite" that is in there as a laugher only. Why waste one of 30 precious tracks on this tripe?

Once you've played through all of the songs, earned your cash, and beaten the game... that's really about it. There are no songs to unlock here, and there's only one character to buy. There aren't any alternative outfits for any of the characters, either. Basically, you'll use your money to buy a showroom's worth of different guitars. Yay. What's the point of that? They don't sound any different.

The rest of the game, aesthetically speaking, is Guitar Hero II in 80s clothing. Some of the outfits are a laugh to look it, and there are a few sbutle changes for each of the venues-- although Stonehenge is strangely absent. The animations are as good as ever, and the varying camera angles give the visuals that live perfomance feel. There's really nothing wrong here, although there's nothing really new, either.

Many fans of the Guitar Hero series, like me, have already made the decision to buy this game and are scratching our heads now. I've even seen some used copies on shelves already. Now Guitar Hero III is in the hands of Neversoft, while Harmonix sets out on a new venture with Rock Band. Expectations are high for both games, but this game has left a bit of a bad taste in my mouth and I'm left to wonder if Activision will allow another game of lesser quality to hit stores.


More information about Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80s
 
comments powered by Disqus