More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Guitar Hero Member Review for the PS2

Voice_of_Reason By:
Voice_of_Reason
03/28/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sim 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Red Octane 
DEVELOPER Harmonix 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Mild Lyrics

What do these ratings mean?

A step up from air guitar.

Wow. Guitar Hero is one of the precious few games that comes along every now and again, that you cannot stop playing (or, as I refer to them, game crack). I played this game all day and all night for weeks. I once played for so long, I fell asleep in the middle of a song, and woke up with the guitar in my hand. Everyone I know played it. My friends played it, my relatives played it, even my mom played it.

Harmonix (developer of PaRappa the Rapper, and DDR) has created a game based on the formula of Konami's obscure rhythm game, Guitar Freaks. Colored notes scroll across the screen, and you hit the corresponding fret buttons on your controller while strumming. When you hit every note in certain sequences, you acquire star power, which increases the number of points you earn per note. How much money you earn per song depends on how well you play, and money can be spent on characters, guitars, and songs.

You get six groups of songs, five songs per group. After beating all five songs, you get to move on to the next group, and each group is harder than the last. You can play in four difficulty settings: easy, medium, hard, and expert. On Easy, the "conveyor belt" moves slowly , you get three different notes, and they come one at a time. On Medium, you get four notes, which come a little faster, as many as two at once. On Hard, all five frets are used, come relatively quickly, at as many as three at a time. Expert is the same as hard, but faster, with notes closer together.

All the songs are licensed (though covered), and include Jimi Hendrix's "Spanish Castle Magic", Stevie Ray Vaughan's "Texas Flood", Cream's "Crossroads", and Audioslave's "Cochise". While these are great, you will, as you can imagine, think "What? No Zeppelin?", or "No White Stripes", or whatever band you like.

The graphics are nice, but not particularly important to the game. I was pleasantly surprised to find that characters fingers moved with the notes.

However, using star power could be a little easier, and a few of the songs weren't covered well. Otherwise, the game's perfect.

If you spend half your time air-guitaring to your favorite song (like me), this is the perfect game for you. In fact, if you have ten fingers on each hand, you have no excuse not to buy this game.


More information about Guitar Hero
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 4583 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus