More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Hitman: Contracts Member Review for the PS2

Master_Craig By:
Master_Craig
07/02/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Eidos 
DEVELOPER I/O Interactive 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Hitman: Contracts is.. I think the third instalment in the Hitman series, the next after Hitman: Silent Assassin, developed by Eidos. You once again play as the legendary hitman, Codename Agent 47. The story is quite odd, as it seems that 47 has been shot and has returned to his hideout, and as he is attempting to recover he is having multiple flashbacks regarding previous missions/hits. I've never played the original Hitman: Codename 47, but I heard that these flashbacks (the levels/missions you play in Hitman: Contracts) are really just recreated levels from the first game. If this is the case, then the experience may be dull to some veteran players of the Hitman series.

The Hitman series has always been of the stealth genre, however not 'sneak and be hidden' such as Metal Gear Solid and Splinter Cell, but more of infiltration and blending in with the enemy, by wearing the clothing of fallen enemies as a disguise, or people/civillians for that matter. Each mission sees 47 completing certain objectives while also most likely taking out at least one target. Completing these objectives can be quite difficult, because as 47 you must get close to your targets and objections while in your chosen disguises, you must avoid suspiscion from other enemies and NPCs, and you got to get the job done as quickly as possible, with little of a mess.

Clean hits can be quite difficult, usually in each mission there are ways to assassinate your hits by means of silence, to make it look as if it was an accident. This can be done in various ways depending on the mission, such as poisoning a man's ordered whiskey with rat poison, forcing a man to go to the bathroom and be away from his guards, with a little help from your friend Mr Laxative, or simply blowing them up from afar with a bomb.

The game does have replay value, as at the end of each mission you are graded with a ranking, which can be from mass murderer (if you choose your guns, over stealth) to silent assassin (pure stealth). By completing missions with the silent assassin ranking, you can unlock new weapons and items to be used in that level, which is pretty good if you wanna play again. Unfortunately though, the game can be quite easy if you do decide to run around guns blazing, but for those kind of players, it can be very difficult regardless.

The voice acting is top notch, especially 47, who sounds very dark and cool about what he does at all times (except of course, when you're getting shot). The game was made back in 2004, and it now being 2006, the graphics are still quite nice. The environments and character models all look relatively good, however the animation looks quite dodgy, when 47 runs it's as if his joints are frozen, or something. Climbing up ladders also looks quite amusing. The enemy A.I can, at times be completly and utterly appauling. I remember while I was playing, I was hiding behind this wall, and this cop somehow magically saw me (he was.. behind the wall) and started shooting at me, funnily enough, his bullets were hitting this almighty mystical wall. I'm also not fond of the fact that some enemies become -very- easily suspiscous of you. In the mission 'The seafood massacre', if you open the door to the kitchen (whie disguised as the chef) to the restuarant, the cop on the inside instantly stands up and -walks right up to you- in the damn kitchen.

While the game does suffer these faults, Hitman: Contracts is still a decent piece to check out. Although considered short with roughly ten or so hours of total gameplay, it's got plenty of replay value for the hardcore players who just want to get 'silent assassin' for every level. If you haven't played any of the previous Hitman games, this is a good place to start - or, you could spend a bit more money and get the latest Hitman: Blood Money.. I'm waiting on that one myself.

-Craig.

More information about Hitman: Contracts
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1378 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus