More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Jak X: Combat Racing Member Review for the PS2

By:
cdn_dude
12/11/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS 1- 6 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Naughty Dog 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence, Language, Use of Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

"Yay! It's Mario Kart meets Jak and Daxter! What could go wrong?" Ummmmmm... almost everything.
Naughty Dog has been milking away the Jak series for few years now. But they, really, should've stopped at Jak 3. I mean, racing was a large part of Jak 3 but they didn't have to spin it off. This game tries so hard to be a Mario Kart, but it's not. In Mario Kart you get to choos from several of your favorite Nintendo characters (each with their own abilities) but in Jak X you only get to choos a few cars with all the same abilities. The only powers ups you can pick up during a race are stronger bullets, missles (like green shells), guided missiles (like red shells), time freeze (like thunder bolt), and your never ending suppily of bullets. To top all of this off the game has finger-cracking controls. It's like you must take yuor finger off the gas just to use a power up. I mean, even Nintendo handled this better with the Gamecube's controler! One of the things this game does do well is it's story. It has some humor and dramatic elements in it and it's very well written as most Jak games. Overall, this game would please the hardcore Jak fan, but not at all racing fans or normal gamers or me. This game could've been better but I guess Sony wanted to release Jak X along with Sly and Ratchet. It fells somewhat rushed in a way.




Stay tuned for more of my reviews and make sure to rate my reviw and leave comments for it, i'm leaving room for improvement!


More information about Jak X: Combat Racing
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 1642 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution