More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Kingdom Hearts II Member Review for the PS2

By:
Damax
12/31/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square-Enix 
DEVELOPER Square-Enix 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Blood, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I have been a huge fan of Square and Square-Enix for a long time. When the first Kingdom Hearts was released, I was a bit sceptacle about the cross-over of Disney and Square...but Square shocked me with an amazing game and left me wanting more. Presto!! Kingdom Hearts II. All the characters, deep plot lines, and combat you loved in the first installment are back in a souped-up sequel. And yes, the camera has had a complete over-hual (YAY!!!).

The story takes place one year after the events in KH and right after Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories. The lengthy, story heavy 4 hour prologue is played through the eyes of a new character to the game. A boy named Roxas is a resident of Twilight Town (your starting world) and has been having strange dreams about the previous adventures of Sora and the gang. After some confusing plot twists, you once again resume control of Sora, Donald, and Goofy.

After you leaving Twilight Town is where the game really starts to pick up. You are given a new set of clothes with probably the most fun ability of the game withing them. The drive form allows you to merge with either Donald or Goofy to unlock amazing new abilities and strength. The duration of your new form is determined by the drive bar, which will deteriarate during you drive. In most of Sora's drive forms, you weild TWO, count em' TWO keyblades (I'm in geek heaven!). Another new addition to the combat system are limit breaks and reaction command, which are both utilized with timed out pressing of the triangle button. Limit breaks team Sora up with extra party members to perfors super combos. And reaction commands are used during certain situations facing an enemy, dealing heavy damage.

The voices acting of KHII is, once again, top notch. But after a while some of the dialogue seems unnecessary and becomes very predictable.  The visuals are still top notch gorgous. But some of the level designing left a lot to be desired. There were always a couple areas in each world that looked very blan and unfinished. All in all KHII is a solid, fun RPG experience. It's everything a sequel should be...more of the same with add-ons and improvments. A compelling story and "after the credits" cliff-hanger, have me patiently wating for KHIII (or another movie as good as Advent Children =).


More information about Kingdom Hearts II
 
comments powered by Disqus