More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Madden NFL 08 Member Review for the PS2

KurtCobain94 By:
KurtCobain94
08/25/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER EA Sports 
DEVELOPER EA Sports 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Madden 08

 

I was a baaaaaaaad boy. I typically will buy Madden every three-four years or so. Typically in that time span, the game has overhauled itself enough that I feel like I am playing something new again. I lost bought Madden 2006 and skipped 2007, and typically would skip 2008 as well. However, I just could not help myself this time. Come the day Madden came out, I had an extra 3k in my bank account (still don’t know how I pulled that off on law enforcement’s salary) and that equaled bad news. You see, I am a Browns fan, a Brady Quinn fan, and I could not stand the thought of not owning the first NFL game that featured our quarterback of the future.

 

Boy was I stupid. I figured in the two years that had passed I would seem a few changes. I think what pissed me off the most was that the graphics are the EXACT same from Madden 06. Come on EA, I know you have this whole monopoly thing going on with the NFL license and all, but in two years, couldn’t you at least update or do SOMETHING with the graphics? I knew something was fishy when I threw my first ever career passing touchdown with Brady Quinn and I saw the same fans cheering in the Dawg Pound as when I would score a pity touchdown with Charlie Frye at the end of a game in 2006. And don’t even try to defend EA with this, “they are just putting loyal fans” crap into the game. Hell no, it is nothing but laziness.

 

Speaking of things being reused. Franchise mode is also the exact same from 2006. They have a few “new” screens, but all it is, is simple reorganization of the game menus. And then there is the soundtrack, and all of the crappy, repetitive music that finds you hitting the mute button on your remote and reaching for your IPOD. I would take my mother’s IPOD over this craptastic excuse of a sound track. Also, let’s not leave out in game sounds. However, if you have ever played 2006, you’ve heard them all before.

 

I guess I shouldn’t sound so bitter though. It is Madden after all. It is still the same fun gameplay we all grew up on. I’ve already had a couple fun nights of playing with my friends, sitting on the couch and having a couple beers. Those are all huge positives. There really are not many better video game ways to pass a night with friends then playing Madden.

 

On that same note though about it “being Madden”. It is still Madden. That means the horrible AI is still here. I mean seriously, I’ve seen pee wee flag football teams play smarter. So I decide to get a little more of a challenge from the game and turn it up a few difficulties. Heaven forbid the people get smarter, no, they just become super Gods in the form of football players. Do you know what it feels like to be sacked 16 times, throw 4 interceptions, and only have 3 competitions in your first professional game? If you have no idea, drop Brady Quinn an email, it is going to be the opening chapter in his new auto biography. Avoid the All Madden mode. I lost a good 5 years of my life from my years of playing Madden on All Madden mode and my blood pressure sky rocketing, and 2008 isn’t helping it out any.

 

Also, the Superstar mode is fun. Granted, it is extremely similar to the 2006 Superstar mode but there is one major difference. Whenever you play, it is from a fixed third person perspective directly behind your superstar. And you can also have the computer play any play for you that your superstar us not involved in. I don’t remember either of these features in the 2006 superstar mode and have come to enjoy the additions. In fact, so much so, I have completely stopped playing everything besides the superstar mode.

 

Review

 

+ Classic Madden

+ Superstar Mode

-  Classic Madden

- Roster Update

- Horrible AI

- All Madden Mode

 

 


More information about Madden NFL 08
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 2393 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus