More Reviews
REVIEWS Pokémon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapph Review
In some way, Pokémon and the relationships they form with their trainers wind up teaching the player something completely different than what you might suspect.

LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES Black Friday 2014 Video Game Deals Buyer's Guide
Looking to score the most bang for your buck the day after Thanksgiving? Well look no further! Our Black Friday guide is just the tool you need.

With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Medal of Honor: Frontline Member Review for the PS2

By:
Ivory_Soul
05/05/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

471207_50831_thumbPublisher: EA

Developer: EA LA

Release Date: 5/28/02

Rating: Teen

MSRP: $49.99

Also Available On

PS3 Logo

Xbox 1 Logo

GC Logo

 

 

 

bar

The Good: High production values, solid action, great sound effects, good animations, varied enemies and levels

The Bad: No multiplayer, lots of slowdown, aiming sucks, the controls are bad, no checkpoints makes the game very difficult

This was one of the first games that blew me away when I was a kid and made me proud to own a PS2. The opening D-Day scene took my breath away, all the explosions, the scripted scenes, the death animations, the sound, it was all here and the productions values were through the roof. Looking back at it 11 years later throwing an egg on the floor is more excited than watching this game. While I can't compare it to games that came after it, even back then there were issues with the game, and they just really stick out now.

aspect1.bmp

Frontline's realism dropped off after the opening level. After D-Day you get recruited to do special missions across Europe and are a one-man-army. It's very unrealistic when you're running around by yourself killing squads that an entire army takes to take down. You're blowing up fuel depots, sabotaging equipment, assassinating important Nazi figure heads and various other things. The game is solid, the scripting is still nice today, but the shooting mechanics and controls suck. There's no aiming down the sights, instead you just zoom in. Shooting from the hip has no reticle so this is useless. My biggest issue with the game, and even back then, was that it is insanely difficult and there are no checkpoints. If you die you restart the entire level which can be infuriating.

1

You have to be careful and run around finding health packs and ammo. You can pick up enemies weapons and instead are stuck with what you are given at the start unless you find a placed weapon. I did like the variety of enemies such as fat chef's throwing knives at you, engineers, cooks, butlers, and even enemies in robes. The death animations are still nice, but where's the damn blood?! The game almost comes off as campy because it is so far from capturing the tragedy of WWII. Even back in the day I felt this way. The pacing of the levels is also off because some levels will be really long and tough while others are super short.

pcsx2 2011-02-13 02-06-24-67

I did find that the game had some fun cheat codes, but there's no replay value. Multiplayer wasn't put into the PS2 version, and even the graphics are lacking. There's a lot of aliasing and the framerate drops tremendously during explosions. Everything does look clean and you can tell a lot of time and care was put into the game. I just can't get over how bad the aiming is, it's so squirrely and hard to get a bead on enemies. The game has a pretty decent length campaign and is worth the cheap price if you never played this game. Frontline was one of the best WWII games for a reason because it was one of the first to really have high production values.

In the end, Frontline feels very dated, but you can see why the game was praised so much back in the day. The production values still show, but the PS2 can't keep up with the action. The aiming is terrible and controls are all wrong, but what can you expect from an 11 year old game?


More information about Medal of Honor: Frontline
 
Medal of Honor: Frontline
fullfullhalfemptyempty
Views: 39641 Review rating:

comments powered by Disqus