More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Medal of Honor: European Assault Member Review for the PS2

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
12/08/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

You notice a trend in reviews on this forum? We have tons of guys and gal's giving their ultra-favorite games great reviews, saything things like "oh my god this game is AWESOME." In a shoddy paragraph or less. Then they talk in simple babble about the graphics, why they like the game, and sometimes add "THIS GAME RULZ!" at the end.

I'm sick of it.

Nothing wrong with the reviews, but I am sick of the lack of depth they have. Hell, We have few BAD REVIEWS anyway on this forum. Why not add one to the mix.

Which is what Medal of Honor: European Assault was for me. A game with potential shot down by bad presentation.

Graphics- They were a bit more updated over Rising Sun, which is good, and here is no exception. I just wish that they were less blocky, because a game like that at this stage of the console life doesn't fit. Although you can see a lot on screen, which is good, and nothing slows down, which is even better. Oh and as for floating icons, they are unecessary, but at least they didn't copy anyone.

Final Score- C+

Play Control- While the game had simple controls for shooting, ducking, leaning, and sqaud commands, none of it works well. The AI is horrible to, considering the Germans never really fight back, and even when they DO fight back, it is usually with horrid accuracy. You can charge a base, bunker, pile of crates, anything easily without fear of losing your life. Even the nemesis objectives, which I thought would be tough, are really easy to accomplish. Not only that, but the AI of your squad is even worse. Any time you take on a tank, youll lose them all hands down. And since fighting a tank is harder than Chinese Algebra. The difficulty fluxuates from super-easy to super-tough in the matter of a few seconds, which is not appealing, especially if you don't have a rocket launcher to take out the metal monster. Horrible job on this end, it ruins the game entirely.

Final Score- D-

Sound- It sounds good at least. The cheesy patriotic music is nice, that old guy talking in cliche's is pretty cool, and the sound effects are spot on. The only true bright spot to this game.

Final Score- B

Satisfaction- People should NOT be afraid of making a bad review. Medal of Honor: European Assault needs to be know as a bad game, especially when it has poor graphics, play control, no true plot what so ever, and those who really care, boring multiplayer games and shoddy AI. The series has definitly gone downhill since Call of Duty, Battlefield 1942, and Brothers in Arms have now upstaged it. Midway needs to overhaul the series and stop gimmicky stuff (The bullet-time knock off was totally useless and should just DIE ALREADY. We get it it's cool, stop using it now!), and focus on getting a story, some better looking graphics, and overhaul the control and AI in the series.

Final Score- D-

Overall Score- D+

More information about Medal of Honor: European Assault
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 1518 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus