More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater Member Review for the PS2

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
12/13/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Konami 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

How can you measure up to two of the most critically acclaimed games ever conceived? Hideo Kojima and his team have done a great job in evolving the Metal Gear Series, and the next part of it is just as impressive as the others, and then some!

The game has been revamped a lot. Adding new features, a new (long winded) storyline, and impressive controls makes it one of the toughest Metal Gears yet, and that is saying something! This time were in the 1950's, with the cold war upon everyoneí¢â‚¬™s mindset, and the seepings of politics, nuclear war, and hatred towards the Russians is tied to the plot. It is hard not to love such a involved, story driven game.

Graphics- Camouflage is one of the greatest inventions mother earth made, and the entire system of camouflage in this game is stunning. The graphics are great, seeing you hide in shadows and in tall grass, shooting enemies and hiding in the jungle from them, alligators and the occasional boss...almost near perfect. The only setback is that I had framerate problems and slowdown at points when the action got hot for me. Reason being is due to my systems age, but it does lower the score, very slightly.

Final Score- A

Play Control- Ok. At first, it was hard to get used to the different controls. A LOT of moves can be done. Once you get them over with and get used to the controls, you have a strong sense on how to do these moves, from neck holds to arm throws. It is great. Also, some of the best gunplay is used in here as well. I also liked the new game system for food and, as always, a twisted plot with blasts from the pasts (pun intended).

Final Score- A

Sound- The sound was pretty good. The voice acting was top notch, and the sound effects of the jungle you inhabit make it real. As always, this is the best sounds you have on the system.

Final Score- A-

Satisfaction- Metal Gear Solid 3 is a very satisfying game. It not only gives us a look at a different side of Snake and a few other characters in the MGS universe. (I won't ruin the surprises, just in case, but most of us know what I am talking about). The whole new interface of espionage and the camouflage system were great additions, and I hope that it returns in the next MGS in some form. As well as that, the game had some of the most impressive boss battles I have seen since Resident Evil 4 (The End anyone?). The game does so much to keep MGS fresh and worth playing. It can get tedious with the long, movie like cutscenes and the learning curve with the control scheme used, but once you get used to that, and get involved in the story, there are no excuses to not finish this excellent game. Highly satisfying, highly recommendable.

Final Score- A

Overall Score- A

More information about Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
 
comments powered by Disqus