More Reviews
REVIEWS The Last of Us Remastered Review
Sony and Naughty Dog have revisited the PlayStation 3 opus to bring an enhanced vision of the game to PlayStation 4, but should you return to Joel and Ellie’s story so soon?

God of War Collection (Vita) Review
God of War brings its PS2 heritage to Vita, and the results are more than a bit baffling.
More Previews
PREVIEWS UemeU Preview
Giving the power to the players to build the games they want to play, UemeU opens up the sandbox to a larger degree than previous games, with intuitive tools, cooperative building, and very few restrictions.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

MotoGP 14
Release date: 09/01/14


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, or Die: August 2014 Release List
Sacred 3, Disgaea 4, inFamous: First Light, Madden NFL 15—what will you Buy, what will you Try, and what needs to Die?

The Best Cosplay of Comic-Con 2014
Comic-Con is the premier convention for cosplayers, and we've got more than a hundred shots this year. Which are your favorites?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence Member Review for the PS2

supersonicjoker By:
supersonicjoker
05/04/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Kojima Productions 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Arguably the best storyline and cinematics ever put into a video game. No game has ever made me feel like I was playing a part in a movie role than Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsitence. When I first played the original Metal Gear Solid 3 I was flabergasted. I was amazed. I was in love. And I had found a new hero in Hideo Kojima. It was an inspirational game like nothing I had ever played. That game alone made me want write scripts for video games. I loved the characters.......they were intriguing and like nothing I had ever seen. And as much as I loved MGS3, there were a few things that could have been improved. And the main thing that could be improved in that game HAS BEEN IMPROVED in Subsistence.....it is the ability to control the camera with the right stick. That one thing makes so much difference. I had put off playing Subsistence until just about a week ago because I didn't really see the point since I had played MGS3. But being that it's a slow time for new releases right now it gave me enough time and the reason I needed to go back and try Subsistence. I was curious if I would still love the game I was once so enamored with. I hadn't played MGS3 since the next generation of consoles had been released so I was curious to see how it felt. And I played it on my PS3. I have to say.....I"m so glad I went back and played Subsistence. I haven't even touched the online play because frankly it doesn't interest me that much and it's doubtful many people still play it. I'm at the final boss battle against THE BOSS right now and I'm at about 21 hours of game time. And I'm more in love with MGS3 now than ever because of Subsistence. Yes, if you're gonna play MGS3, then play Subsistence. It's definitely better and improved. I had forgotten about all the characters and their personalitites and the subtle humor and everything. Hideo Kojima is a genuis and these characters of his prove it. The Cobra team is phenomenal and the cowboy Ocelot is a great character. What about a villain who uses bees as a weapon? Those flying machines are eerie as you're wading slowly through the marsh. Threre is so much diversity in this game. The motorcycle ride is one of my favorite parts. The final couple of hours of the game are edge-of-your-seat exciting.....non-stop action. Never in any videogame I've ever played has the storyline and the gameplay gone so well together. It really is like a movie. In fact on the Bonus disc that comes in the case you can watch all the cinematics back to back as a movie. Definitely without a doubt one of the top 5 games ever ever ever made. I could talk about this game for hours so I'll end it here. Just know this......if you own a Playstation 2 or 3 and have never played Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence.......you are really missing something great. And if you wondered if it's worth playing if you've already played MGS3........YES! YES! YES!!


More information about Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution