More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence Member Review for the PS2

supersonicjoker By:
supersonicjoker
05/04/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Kojima Productions 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Arguably the best storyline and cinematics ever put into a video game. No game has ever made me feel like I was playing a part in a movie role than Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsitence. When I first played the original Metal Gear Solid 3 I was flabergasted. I was amazed. I was in love. And I had found a new hero in Hideo Kojima. It was an inspirational game like nothing I had ever played. That game alone made me want write scripts for video games. I loved the characters.......they were intriguing and like nothing I had ever seen. And as much as I loved MGS3, there were a few things that could have been improved. And the main thing that could be improved in that game HAS BEEN IMPROVED in Subsistence.....it is the ability to control the camera with the right stick. That one thing makes so much difference. I had put off playing Subsistence until just about a week ago because I didn't really see the point since I had played MGS3. But being that it's a slow time for new releases right now it gave me enough time and the reason I needed to go back and try Subsistence. I was curious if I would still love the game I was once so enamored with. I hadn't played MGS3 since the next generation of consoles had been released so I was curious to see how it felt. And I played it on my PS3. I have to say.....I"m so glad I went back and played Subsistence. I haven't even touched the online play because frankly it doesn't interest me that much and it's doubtful many people still play it. I'm at the final boss battle against THE BOSS right now and I'm at about 21 hours of game time. And I'm more in love with MGS3 now than ever because of Subsistence. Yes, if you're gonna play MGS3, then play Subsistence. It's definitely better and improved. I had forgotten about all the characters and their personalitites and the subtle humor and everything. Hideo Kojima is a genuis and these characters of his prove it. The Cobra team is phenomenal and the cowboy Ocelot is a great character. What about a villain who uses bees as a weapon? Those flying machines are eerie as you're wading slowly through the marsh. Threre is so much diversity in this game. The motorcycle ride is one of my favorite parts. The final couple of hours of the game are edge-of-your-seat exciting.....non-stop action. Never in any videogame I've ever played has the storyline and the gameplay gone so well together. It really is like a movie. In fact on the Bonus disc that comes in the case you can watch all the cinematics back to back as a movie. Definitely without a doubt one of the top 5 games ever ever ever made. I could talk about this game for hours so I'll end it here. Just know this......if you own a Playstation 2 or 3 and have never played Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence.......you are really missing something great. And if you wondered if it's worth playing if you've already played MGS3........YES! YES! YES!!


More information about Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution