More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

NCAA March Madness 06 Member Review for the PS2

By:
Black_Magik
07/28/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA Sports 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

March Madness 2006 falls under a long list of EA Sports "basketball titles" that have "dropped the ball".  While the Madden franchise and the younger brother title NCAA football continue to develop new ways for fans to become engulfed in the gameplay, NBA Live as well as March Madness seem to think that touching up on previous mistakes makes for a decent release title.  Honestly, they couldn't be more wrong and MM 06 shows how little developers think about their basketball fans.

Simple mistakes that should have been caught in the production and testing stages such as stepping out of bounds, fan reaction, and player development seem to have been to much a challenge for testers to stop and question.  Why is it that running certain defenses makes the computer run offensive sets that are either to easy to stop or impossible to stop, but always predictable.  9 times out of 10, you can tell exactly what play the computer is about to run and regardless of your reaction, the AI isn't adaptable enough to realize you know where the next pass is going and to change their strategy.  I guess EA decided to balance it out by letting certain plays be nearly impossible to stop.  For example, when the computer runs the baseline screen play,  even if the play recieves the ball 5 feet away from the 3-point line, he still has a 95% chance of making the shot. 

Then there's the addition of the senior leader.  This has got to be the most frustrating feature of all.  The player labeled as the team's "emotional leader" spends more time waving his arms and slapping the court in critical situations that actually playing offense/defense.  I feel like slamming my controller down when I get a steal and the player who should be leading the fastbreak is to busy half-assing his way down court because he's playing up the crowd and not worried about scoring.  Seeing this display makes me call a quick T.O. and let my senior leader lead from the bench.

Next, while the addition of cheerleaders and the mascots for most teams is nice, why not have coaches visible on the sidelines.  Where's that post game celebration when an underdog knocks off a top seed?  Where's the excitement of the coaching cheering from the sideline or pacing in disgust during a blowout.  Everything on the sideline is dull.  No player movement on the bench and the crowd simply stands and sits and occasionally does a cheer. 

I'm really hoping that one day EA will let their developers sit down and give as much effort, thought, and attention to their basketball titles like they do their precious Madden and NCAA college football.  Give the real gamers who love an in-depth basketball experience something with true replay value.  Gives us a reason to create a player, develop him into a college stud, and move him to the next level where he can be drafted and become a superstar.  If EA doesn't have the devoted staff willing to sit down and breathe some new life into their basketball titles, call on me.  I know I can't be the only one near the edge of giving up, but before I do I hope my ideas and opinions can be heard and put to good use. 


More information about NCAA March Madness 06
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 1387 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus