More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

NCAA March Madness 06 Member Review for the PS2

By:
Black_Magik
07/28/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA Sports 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

March Madness 2006 falls under a long list of EA Sports "basketball titles" that have "dropped the ball".  While the Madden franchise and the younger brother title NCAA football continue to develop new ways for fans to become engulfed in the gameplay, NBA Live as well as March Madness seem to think that touching up on previous mistakes makes for a decent release title.  Honestly, they couldn't be more wrong and MM 06 shows how little developers think about their basketball fans.

Simple mistakes that should have been caught in the production and testing stages such as stepping out of bounds, fan reaction, and player development seem to have been to much a challenge for testers to stop and question.  Why is it that running certain defenses makes the computer run offensive sets that are either to easy to stop or impossible to stop, but always predictable.  9 times out of 10, you can tell exactly what play the computer is about to run and regardless of your reaction, the AI isn't adaptable enough to realize you know where the next pass is going and to change their strategy.  I guess EA decided to balance it out by letting certain plays be nearly impossible to stop.  For example, when the computer runs the baseline screen play,  even if the play recieves the ball 5 feet away from the 3-point line, he still has a 95% chance of making the shot. 

Then there's the addition of the senior leader.  This has got to be the most frustrating feature of all.  The player labeled as the team's "emotional leader" spends more time waving his arms and slapping the court in critical situations that actually playing offense/defense.  I feel like slamming my controller down when I get a steal and the player who should be leading the fastbreak is to busy half-assing his way down court because he's playing up the crowd and not worried about scoring.  Seeing this display makes me call a quick T.O. and let my senior leader lead from the bench.

Next, while the addition of cheerleaders and the mascots for most teams is nice, why not have coaches visible on the sidelines.  Where's that post game celebration when an underdog knocks off a top seed?  Where's the excitement of the coaching cheering from the sideline or pacing in disgust during a blowout.  Everything on the sideline is dull.  No player movement on the bench and the crowd simply stands and sits and occasionally does a cheer. 

I'm really hoping that one day EA will let their developers sit down and give as much effort, thought, and attention to their basketball titles like they do their precious Madden and NCAA college football.  Give the real gamers who love an in-depth basketball experience something with true replay value.  Gives us a reason to create a player, develop him into a college stud, and move him to the next level where he can be drafted and become a superstar.  If EA doesn't have the devoted staff willing to sit down and breathe some new life into their basketball titles, call on me.  I know I can't be the only one near the edge of giving up, but before I do I hope my ideas and opinions can be heard and put to good use. 


More information about NCAA March Madness 06
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 1322 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution