More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Okami Member Review for the PS2

By:
BinaryMind
03/17/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Clover 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood and Gore, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

Despite Okami marketers constantly saying Okami is not a Zelda game, these claims turned out to be completely false. Okami certainly does not play like a Zelda game as Brush combat is nothing like a Zelda game. Still, Okami feels just like a Zelda game. Perhaps it was the epic bosses, deep dungeons, free-roaming fields, or the light-hearted feel... I don't know, but it's hard to deny the game doesn't feel like Zelda.

The gameplay probably should have taken another page from Zelda though, as combat is pretty repetitive (unless it's one of the few inventive bosses). The game is perhaps just as fun to explore, except there is too much repetition in collecting clovers or feeding animals. The feel-good story and character again are just as goofy and fun as Zelda, except Okami constantly bothers players with endless dialogue. As it turns out, Okami is a solid Zelda-clone... which still means it's a pretty darn great game.


More information about Okami
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 693 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution