More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Okami Member Review for the PS2

jam33 By:
jam33
02/12/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Clover 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood and Gore, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

     With a game like this--I don't even know where to start.

     Okami was amazing, there is no other way to put it. From start to finish I was hooked, trying to fit in as many hours during the day that I possibly could. And that actually proved to be quite long--I finished the game with 50 hours and 30 minutes under my belt.

     It combines so many ideas, that many other games would just crash and burn under normal circumstances. But Okami is different. Playing as the Shinto Sun God Amaterasu, the story is riveting, with many new twists along the way, keeping players on edge. After all, how many other games involve wolf-gods, time-travel, a lunar civilization, and an eight-headed dragon, and still keep the game afloat?

     And apart from the story, and the length of the game, the graphics and gameplay are nothing short of extraordinary. The modern cel-shaded design simply blows other games (namely the Windwaker and XIII) out of the park. This is one of those few games where it is just as fun to watch in awe as it is to play. Despite the fact that the game looks animated, the painstaking detail is inspiring.

     As for gameplay, that was one of the bigger surprises of Okami. No one would really expect that reviving nature, feeding animals, and helping people could actually be fun. But the characters go along way--mainly the protagonists, the cynical Amaterasu and the cocky poncle Issun (little bug-like warrior that follows you). But this is also where the puzzle aspect of the game comes into play. The celestial brush (a kick-ass paintbrush that can influence your surroundings) proves to be one of the most innovative designs to come along in a long time, and at first would seem more like an idea fit for the Nintendo DS.

     And to finish the game off, there was the ending. It isn't a heartbreaker, nor is it a cliffhanger, leaving room for a sequel (R.I.P. Clover Studio), but it is one that will leave you thinking afterwards; an obvious Japanese-styled fin. Unlike the last few games I have played lately (i.e. Gun, Liberty City Stories, Syphon Filter: Dark Mirror), you won't leave feeling pissed-off and empty, left with nothing to do. It is one of those endings that jjust makes you want to pick the controller and start all over again.

     In short, one of the best games out on the PS2, or any system for that matter. Definitely worth the money, if you are into the whole action/puzzle gameworld. Anyone without an open mind, or without an eye for beauty, need not apply. I loved it.

                                                                                                                                                          --Joe Mac 


More information about Okami
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1484 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution