More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Onimusha: Dawn Of Dreams Member Review for the PS2

Greg_Bryan By:
Greg_Bryan
02/06/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

 

Boy oh boy this game upped the Onimusha series from a good series, to a great series.  You start the game out as Soki the Blue demon.  Then you meet Jubei also in the cast of characters you get Tenkai who rocks Roberto and last but no least Oh-hot-Sue.  The game is a little to linear because there are stages instead of an open world like the fist few onimusha's. A rather large positive though, is this, it finally has a co-op mode. This adds a whole new demision to the game.  As all the Onimusha games go the AI is a little lack luster at times but some enemies are very difficult.  The story line is solid as usual. The fighting is fluid.  Items are nice, they still lacks customization, but I can't complain.  The 100 level demon relam will add hours of entertainment to this game, so call up your best friend and have at it.  Just know, at level 50 and 100 you get a the two strongest weapons for the charcter, player one is playing with.  Boss fights are great minus the fact like all the Onimusha games you fight the same boss over and over again, which I really wish they fix.  The only complaint I have about this game is you have to go back to certain levels when you get all your characters because most of the goodies can't be found without you beening able to have access to all characters.  Another great thing is, in single player mode you still have an AI character with you, so if you get low on health just switch characters.  They also have bonuses that they bring your main character.  Graphics are also very solid for being a PS2 game.  But the flip side, one negitive is..... the camra angles will bug out sometimes in co-op mode.

All in all this is a great game.  Anyone who has an Onimusha game or has played one and thought it was good, this is a buy for sure.  If you haven't played an Onimusha game before but have always wanted to, rent it please.  This is the best Onimusha game in the sieres.

Also to enable 2 player mode... at the title screen player one hold down R1, R2, L1 and L2.  Player 2 hold down R1, R2, L1, L2 and I believe it is start and select if that is wrong I apologize.

 


More information about Onimusha: Dawn Of Dreams
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1168 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus