More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Resident Evil: Code Veronica X Member Review for the PS2

By:
McCoy
08/01/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

WELL... in my opinion, Resident Evil: Code Veronica X is probably the second best Resident Evil game there is (don't know about 3 or 5, haven't played them. Then again, nobody has played 5 yet. ;)  )

Controls are the same as it was in 1, 2, and probably 3 as well... tank-like movement. I always hated this, but there isn't a whole lot I can do about it. Anyway, it's pretty much the same basics as the previous Resident Evils, except graphics are superior to its predecessors, it's longer, and doesn't have stupid dialogue that 1 and 2 had.

This game is pretty hard. Zombies can be faster, there are, of course, new enemies that nobody would have ever seen in the previous ones, and healing items don't seem to show up when you need them. The knife can actually be pretty useful in this game, depending on how you use it... it's perfect for knocking zombies back down the stairs or cutting zombies to bits while they are on the ground. Plus the knife is about all you need for the Cerberuses (if you don't believe me, just shoot one with the handgun and knife it while it's down or smack it when it jumps you.) There is a greater variation of zombies in this one instead of having three or four different appearances for them, there are now quite a bit. Puzzles are pretty much the same and aren't too hard to figure out. The music, in my opinion, is the best and is definitely superior to all of the other Resident Evil games.

The story is great. It has a habit of pulling surprises out of nowhere and then you're like "Well... I didn't expect that to happen..." Especially when you see Wesker once again, since he was thought to be dead in 1... but he's back and he is a nightmare to be reckoned with. His goal is to kill Chris Redfield and in the middle of the game when you do have to play with Chris, you will see Wesker quite a bit.

Words fail me while trying to describe it. This is an awesome game!

 


More information about Resident Evil: Code Veronica X
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 968 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution