More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Shadow of the Colossus Member Review for the PS2

By:
Ivory_Soul
03/22/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Sony Japan 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

 

tumblr_lomvb8CX7Q1qiczsyo1_1311168016_coverPublisher: SCEA

Developer: Bluepoint Games

Release Date: 9/27/2011

Rating: Teen

MSRP: $14.99

 

Also Available On

PS2 Logo

 

bar

The Good: Fantastic graphics, slaying each colossus is exhilarating, beautiful atmosphere and visuals, touching ending

The Bad: Not much story, pretty short, frustrating controls and game mechanics

I have been wanting to review this game forever, and now I have the chance. I played this back in 2005 when it first came out and it was just unreal. SotC still has some of the best graphics to grace the PS2, it almost looked next-gen at the time. Of course it suffered from massive slowdown, but now we can play it with some extra graphical effects and at 60FPS. There's not much of a story here, there never is with Famito Ueda's games. You are a boy named  Wander who brings a girl to a temple, a cursed land, and vows to destroy all 16 colossi in order to bring her back to life. The game has one of the most touching endings I can remember.

colossus13

The game is very basic, you just head to each colossus and slay it. There is a huge open world, but it is very barren and void of life, but that's the away it is supposed to be. You feel very alone and helpless in this land of brown and gray. You have two weapons, a sword and a bow. You can hold the sword up to the light to guide you to the next colossus which really isn't that hard. Once you find it you have to figure out how to get on top of it and that's the tricky part. Each colossus is completely different. Some are tall, some are fat, some are the size of a lion. These lumbering beasts will attack, but you need to find their weak spots. One colossus has weak spots on the bottom of its feet. When it walks you need to use your bow and shoot it. It then falls over and you can jump up and grab its fur and start climbing. Some aren't so easy, in fact there are no hints on how to get on top of these beasts. One tricky water serpent requires you to swim over him and then his tail will come out of the water so you can grab it.

The best part is when  you get on these things. Each colossus is like a level in itself. You can to climb around and hold the R1 button to stay on. They will try to shake you and your window to actually stab the glowing weak spots is really small. You have a stamina meter and when it depletes you let go and fall back down. This can be really frustrating if getting on top of the colossus is already frustrating or a long fiasco. As you slay these monsters your stamina and health increase, but you still need to watch out. The worst part about the game are the God awful controls. They just suck and the game mechanics are sluggish and unresponsive. If it weren't for this the game would be perfect. Wander's animations are a bit jerky and when the colossi shake you and your stamina is dropping you just want to charge your stab and kill it, but sure enough you get shaken again right as you start to charge. Wander flops around and it just feels sluggish. When you try walking on the colossus Wander will fall and tumble, some times right down to the ground. I almost threw my controller several times because of this. You will mainly die because of the mechanics, not your skills.

shadow-of-the-colossus

Let's talk about your horse. Aggro is a main character, but I felt like I was driving a Mac truck. He won't move if you push the stick forward, instead you have to mash X and it takes forever for his momentum to get going. You can only tap the stick left and right to steer him, but he moves too quickly and runs right into walls, which he then stops on a dime and turns completely around. Maneuvering through tight areas is a serious pain. The horse controls are just terrible. This is probably the only bad part about the game, there is nothing else like this game out there. The colossi themselves look fantastic and are just gigantic. You really feel helpless and wonder how you are going to take this thing down. It all adds to the foreboding atmosphere of the game, the loneliness and helplessness that you feel throughout.

shadow_of_the_colossus

The graphics are superb even to this day. The PS3 version adds some texture filtering, anti-aliasing, and of course the frame rate is 60 now. There's also some extra bloom added so the lighting looks great. However, despite all this greatness, the game is pretty short and you can beat it in about 5-6 hours. All you do is slay all 16 colossi and you're done. However, it is a very memorable experience.

Overall, Shadow of the Colossus was a milestone for the PS2, and is still one of the best games ever made. The frustrating controls and game mechanics keep this game from being as perfect as all the rest. Have patience and just deal with it. Every PlayStation fan should play this game.


More information about Shadow of the Colossus
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution