More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Shadow of the Colossus Member Review for the PS2

jam33 By:
jam33
09/02/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Sony Japan 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Wow. Shadow of the Colossus is by far one of the best PS2 games of 2005 (in my opinion). I mean, what other game features a guy armed with nothing but a bow & arrow and a sword trying to take down a 150 ft-plus mountain that just happens to be swinging a club the size of a Greyhound bus?

Although the game is arthouse, that should not discourage mainstream gamers from playing. The 16 bosses in Shadow are each memorable in their own way, and the fights are exhilirating unlike the likes of which I have seen for a long time. And for those who do like arthouse, the landscape of the cursed world will blow you away. For those who like Ico, it's recommended for sure.

Some may complain the game is too short, but I found it still took me 11 hours to beat the game on normal, and now I am fighting my way through hard mode. I would say that with hard mode and time attack included, the game probably has 25 hours or so of solid gameplay.

Hey, for $20, I would have to say that it's a worthy pick-up.


More information about Shadow of the Colossus
 
comments powered by Disqus