More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Silent Hill 2 Member Review for the PS2

By:
Sensei_Rebel
03/25/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Konami 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Review - Silent Hill 2 (PS2)

It's not as dark as the Bush administration's vision of America, but it comes pretty close. Originally, I had thought the whole Silent Hill series was a subtle Resident Evil rip-off (which itself was an obvious Return of the Living Dead rip-off, so Silent Hill was bound to get a little weird). But it didn't hit me how different Silent Hill was till I completed it for the first time (on easy difficulty - I like to move slow). But my moment of clarity was incomparable to my final thoughts about Silent Hill 2 which actually came months later.

I started thinking - could the whole thing be a metaphor for mankind's sadness ? I've craftily located a few locations to go with my theory: for one, the hospital - a place where the sick and really sick go, sometimes to get better, sometimes to die. No one likes being a patient in a hospital. Second, a prison - a place that holds countless representatives of the darker side of humanity. There's a few more places that usually get people down, but those two stood out as the longest and creepiest.

You go about a deserted town with only a handful of inhabitants who you share dialogue and events with, all who carry with them a feeling of a sad past and an even sadder future. It looks like there might have been life in the town recently, but everything has been abandoned, and yet most of it still appears to be looked after. To cult-movie-goers: I'd say the movie Eraserhead had something to do with Silent Hill's ideas, but Silent Hill has done it even better, because the ideas mostly make sense and don't attempt to confuse you as much. Silent Hill is a place you'd think you wouldn't want to live, but for some reason, I've never felt more like wanting to experience a nightmare.

The music deserves a lot of praise and is actually really good on its own. It's what good ambient music should sound like, and it adds a perfect atmosphere. A few tracks stand out more than others, but all make for a wonderfully dark experience and make me wish all game soundtracks were this good.

But, there are a few things I wish I hadn't experienced - the real problem with SH2 is slightly clumsy control when fighting/shooting at the odd enemies. Speaking of, the enemies are also another flaw - there's very few types of them (about 3 or 4), and they feel out of place.

I think it's really too bad, because SH2 had a GREAT chance to be a perfect game (at least for what it was going for, since I know it's not everyone's cup of tea). Other than those two annoyances, I really think Silent Hill 2 is a good alternative to the Bush administration.

OVERALL: 93/100

More information about Silent Hill 2
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1049 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus