More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

SSX Tricky Member Review for the PS2

By:
MattAY
05/23/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Language, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Uber Good!

"Tricky! It's Tricky! It's tricky to rock or rhyme that's right on time.." - Yeah! You'll be singing this over and over by the time you've unstuck yourself from the ass-groove you've left in your sofa from playing so long! When i first got this game (in 2002 i think?), i actually played this from the evening to the early hours of the morning! It's so much ****ing fun! Hopefully you'll read and learn!

Let's start with the graphics because they are a peach. The snow actually looks like a blanket you can curl into, and when your board severs that smooth blanket it leaves a nice looking trail. And that's only one little detail, everything else is exactly the same! Great detailed graphics. When you get enough air to do a trick, it's hard to both time your grabs etc and to look at the awesome atmosphere underneath! ecause it really is jaw-dropping! Makes you want to take a ski-holiday or something. Although if you do decide to may i recommend not doing Ubertricks!!



I dont know where they got the idea of naming special tricks in german, but i guess it does sound like they're BIG tricks! And they are. They are very simple to execute thank god! Just two buttons to press, but you have to get "tricky" on the trick meter (tricky just means full). At the point to get a full trick meter, the Run DMC tune gets mixed in to the tune that's already playing, and it sounds awesome! You owe it to the music to pull off wicked tricks now!

Anyway, to the gameplay. There's 3 styles of gameplay: freeride, freestyle and race. In freeride, you just board for fun. In freestyle, you have to pull off as many tricks as you can to obtain the highest score. And in race you have to be the fastest to the finsih line! There's a reason to doing these game modes...levelling your characters!! I love levelling! Anyway, you have to get the gold in order to max your characters stats...silver isn't good enough chump! You can also unlock better boards by performing tricks from a characters trick list (each character's trick list is different). This can be fun to do when you're perhaps a bit tired of pressure, and you just want to take your time to perform masterful tricks. So that's it to the game. Simple, but DAMN effective!



On to the characters! Claim to fame, famous people do the voices of the characters! Whenever you pull off a trick, your character wails a clever pun to the crowd or his enemy! And you as the game get psyched just that little notch higher. Famous people include David Arquette, the voice of the top -heavy afro man Eddie. Billy Zane who does a Zen man. Macy Gray does a bald sassy chick. And many more including Oliver Platt etc! All awesome! And the game includes a special footage section where you can see how they do the voiceovers, and how the game is made etc! It's a nice addition when you've perhaps seen too much white and need a break!

So damn is this game a scorcher! This game has actually had me hooked onto SSX games ever since (SSX On Tour has maybe put me off the series now!) But Tricky is the best game in the series i'd say! I love every second of playing this game! The music is go good to listen to whilst you pull off easyily performed uber tricks! Tracks from Hybrid, John Morgan, King of Beats. It's all rap/breakbeat. And the voices give you motivation to go on that extra jump! I would seriously recommend buying this game if you haven't already. It's the mutt's uber nuts!



More information about SSX Tricky
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1988 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution