More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

SSX Tricky Member Review for the PS2

By:
MattAY
05/23/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Language, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Uber Good!

"Tricky! It's Tricky! It's tricky to rock or rhyme that's right on time.." - Yeah! You'll be singing this over and over by the time you've unstuck yourself from the ass-groove you've left in your sofa from playing so long! When i first got this game (in 2002 i think?), i actually played this from the evening to the early hours of the morning! It's so much ****ing fun! Hopefully you'll read and learn!

Let's start with the graphics because they are a peach. The snow actually looks like a blanket you can curl into, and when your board severs that smooth blanket it leaves a nice looking trail. And that's only one little detail, everything else is exactly the same! Great detailed graphics. When you get enough air to do a trick, it's hard to both time your grabs etc and to look at the awesome atmosphere underneath! ecause it really is jaw-dropping! Makes you want to take a ski-holiday or something. Although if you do decide to may i recommend not doing Ubertricks!!



I dont know where they got the idea of naming special tricks in german, but i guess it does sound like they're BIG tricks! And they are. They are very simple to execute thank god! Just two buttons to press, but you have to get "tricky" on the trick meter (tricky just means full). At the point to get a full trick meter, the Run DMC tune gets mixed in to the tune that's already playing, and it sounds awesome! You owe it to the music to pull off wicked tricks now!

Anyway, to the gameplay. There's 3 styles of gameplay: freeride, freestyle and race. In freeride, you just board for fun. In freestyle, you have to pull off as many tricks as you can to obtain the highest score. And in race you have to be the fastest to the finsih line! There's a reason to doing these game modes...levelling your characters!! I love levelling! Anyway, you have to get the gold in order to max your characters stats...silver isn't good enough chump! You can also unlock better boards by performing tricks from a characters trick list (each character's trick list is different). This can be fun to do when you're perhaps a bit tired of pressure, and you just want to take your time to perform masterful tricks. So that's it to the game. Simple, but DAMN effective!



On to the characters! Claim to fame, famous people do the voices of the characters! Whenever you pull off a trick, your character wails a clever pun to the crowd or his enemy! And you as the game get psyched just that little notch higher. Famous people include David Arquette, the voice of the top -heavy afro man Eddie. Billy Zane who does a Zen man. Macy Gray does a bald sassy chick. And many more including Oliver Platt etc! All awesome! And the game includes a special footage section where you can see how they do the voiceovers, and how the game is made etc! It's a nice addition when you've perhaps seen too much white and need a break!

So damn is this game a scorcher! This game has actually had me hooked onto SSX games ever since (SSX On Tour has maybe put me off the series now!) But Tricky is the best game in the series i'd say! I love every second of playing this game! The music is go good to listen to whilst you pull off easyily performed uber tricks! Tracks from Hybrid, John Morgan, King of Beats. It's all rap/breakbeat. And the voices give you motivation to go on that extra jump! I would seriously recommend buying this game if you haven't already. It's the mutt's uber nuts!



More information about SSX Tricky
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1956 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution