More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

The Suffering: Ties That Bind Member Review for the PS2

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
02/03/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Midway 
DEVELOPER Surreal 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Drugs, bi-polar disorders, and heavily armed convicts...  All we need is Tommy Lee Jones to be a U.S. Marshal, and we have a pretty good low-budget movie.

Throw in some creepy moments, and a really weird monster that can literality grind through critters like my uncle at a Chinese buffet, and your left with... The Suffering: Ties that Bind!

Following suit of the first game, the sequel takes place after the events of the ending of the first game, and we find our hero thrown back into similar events.

Thus, our blood spatters comrade in arms must battle his own demons, while fighting low AI mercenaries, with crappy low powered weapons. 

The enemies, or mali...something, look exactly like the guys in the previous game. Except for a few new additions, that looks less frightening than the earlier games hell bend baddies.

This game tries to fill in all the holes left by the first game, and leaves a few of its own in the process.  While I do love 'filler games' Ties that Bind left me more malnourished and deprived of content than the first game.

This game does make up for the shallow storyline with action aplenty.  There are lots of baddies to splatter on the walls. And a nice array of weapons to choose from.... Shotguns, machine guns, knives, pipes and my personal favorite... The Fire Axe.

As like the first game, each decision you make effects the outcome of the game, from helping a Cops take down some baddies, to blasting the Pigs, and then killing anything that gets in your way.

Fun.

As a bonus, your 'angry inner child' changes with each decision you make. Be a good boy, and your 'transformed' state will be more like the Incredible Hulk.... Be a bad ass, and your 'inner self' will reflect that. With spikes, and a sweet looking red coloring.

Ether way, the attacks of the 'transformed' state are practically the same, no matter what side you choose. So it’s just the ending that changes.

For a small price of 10 bucks, and a few hours of your time, Ties that Bind is a mediocre sequel to a mediocre game.  Can't ask for much more.... Or could we?

 

 

 

 


More information about The Suffering: Ties That Bind
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1202 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution