More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Tony Hawk's American Wasteland Member Review for the PS2

By:
Mutations
11/10/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Neversoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Crude Humor, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?



Stickin it to the Man

Since 1999 there has been a Tony Hawk. They've gone from collect S-K-A-T-E in the earlier games, to travel around the world blowing stuff up in Underground 2, finally to travel around L.A..... blowing stuff up. The times are a-changing.

At the very beginning of the game you choose between Easy, Normal, and "Sick" difficulties. If you bought this game choose Sick. I chose easy, and I was done in a day. The game starts off with you getting of a bus, and pretty much getting your ass beat (sucka!), welcome to L.A.! Stereotypical girl with attitude calls you a hick, even if you chose to be the afro soldier. She knows an old skater with a giant slab of land teeming with skate ramps. He suggests that you go around L.A. messing with society, and breaking expensive things. In real life if you did this in Los Angeles, you'd have a nightstick imprinted in your face.

Gameplay: If you have played any previous games, it's the same. Incredibly impossible tricks made easy. If you tried to do that in real life you'd die a horrible painful death. They advertise that there's no loading screens, and thats...usually right.

Graphics: Good enough. Every cutscene it switches to comic graphics once or twice, to resemble Mindy's comic book. There's usually some tattooed skinhead with his eyes poppin out.

Overall: 8.6

A "Sure, go with it" game.

Fun: This game is fun enough that you'll get addicted, but only for a couple hours. If you liked any of the other games, don't expect anything new, same old stuff.


More information about Tony Hawk's American Wasteland
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution