More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Tony Hawk's American Wasteland Member Review for the PS2

killakeith123 By:
killakeith123
11/21/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Neversoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Crude Humor, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Lemmie start by saying that I love the THPS games. And American Wasteland brings so much more to the table than I thought it would. Intigrating a bike into a skating game was kinda risky and didnt effect the game as much as i would have wanted it to be, good or bad. First off, the combo system for the bike is kinda weak. You of course have the simple tricks and can bust some pretty sick flatland but there is only 4 air tricks, yes ONLY 4. Grinding is also a more enjoyable part of biking but it dosent make up for the weak air tricks. On the board you have 16 air tricks. Balance switches when grinding to rack up points and balance switch with manuals to.

A nother thing that sorta hurt the game in my view was how stupid the story mode was. It wasent that the story wasent stupid. Trying to bring a dying skate park back to life is awsome but the stuff you have to do to get it is repeditive and frustrating. Wall plant that, grind that, pivot that, Its the same thing over and over and OVER again. It hurt the flow of a typicall Tony Hawk game.

Next, its classic mode. Genius, to bring back, recreate, and play classic Tony Hawk levels was a superb move on the game makers part. The recrated levels have more detail and more depth without giving up the classic feel. Sometimes it gets annouying trying to finish all the missions but you have alittle fun doing it.

One thing that did catch my eye at first was that the game was so polished. The Graphics Improved Incredibly since the first Underground. The character models are more crisp and soft, no harsh edges and polygonal looking hands.

I thought this was an ok game untill i looked on the box and read, "No Load Times". At that moment my whole view for the game shifted. To be able to create such a fast world with such detail without loading must be a wonder in gaming, Untill i started playing and realized, WTF, The biggests levels on the game where the classic levels. I may be exaggerating but these things were SMALL. My biggest thing was when you finished the skate park and half the stuff you collected wasent there. It being in decent size and haveing tons of stuff to play with and all your hard work for half of it.

Overall, this game was pretty good. Graphics and no load times saved the game from the dreaded C though. They should stick with the idea of skating and biking in one and they might have somthing.

This is a try before you buy game, just because it might not appeal to some people. so i will leave this game with a solid B.



More information about Tony Hawk's American Wasteland
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution