More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 Member Review for the PS2

bigdawg81192 By:
bigdawg81192
09/06/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Neversoft 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Comic Mischief, Mild Lyrics, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Coming back with the board and pair of very sore balls.
 
THPS 4. We all anticipated the grand arrival of the 4th Tony Hawks Game. Some were waiting for a month, others looking on the shelf and saying, “DUDE! WTF? This is out already?" and yes, I know that every THPS game has been about as addicting as a gram of Columbian Bam-Bam, but when THUG came out (Tony Hawks Underground), everything was left in the dust.
Okay, typical Tony Hawk game, you select story mode and begin skating, or you use the new, create-a-skater. Either way, you're ready for hell. Start at the College level and learn the basics. Manual, Skitching, Jumping unrealistically high off of a quarter pipe, ECT. Complete all the basic goals, and what do you get? stat points! YAY!
                                  
With your newfound skill, you travel all over, and with your progress, the game starts to get hard. Seriously, I have been playing THPS for a LONG time, and there’s about 3 or 4 goals, that sadly, I’m unable to complete. And if that isn’t enough, you get teased in the "buy sk8ters" section when you see the message "hot chick, available at $100,000 TOTAL cash". I don’t know if you know this but, what a coincidence, there just happens to be just about exactly that much cash in the game.
                                                        
The moves are a-plentiful, plenty of specials that you can switch in and out, and it's just plain fun. I mean, when you see Bam Magera Lazy ass manualing, you just got to laugh. Another great thing that’s offered is cheat codes, which are pretty fun for getting a kick ass high score (I got to 2,000,000 then got slightly bored.)
                      
                       
Now honestly, the game does offer enough of playing time (I clocked 10 hours beating the game except the pro challenges and spent 1 hour building a mildly entertaining kustom park). But honestly, slamming the cicle button will get to the thumb so, there is a bit of boredom with the tricks. I think that eventually it gets a bit out of hand. With all the repetitiveness I decides to make a bowl of popcorn, and try to simultaneously throw it at the TV while attempting on of the more challenging goals (king of the sk8 park, anybody?). So as though you MIGHT get board….(lol)… I can guarantee that this is money well spent.
                                                     

More information about Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 7070 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution