More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution Member Review for the PS2

By:
hurriflash
04/29/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Sega 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

 

rn

VF4 evo is probably the best fighter for PS2. It is complete, with a roster of 15 characters with different styles of fighting. the thing catch your eye is the incredible care to details in each field.
Since presentation you can understand what i mean. SEGA AM2 voice introduces you to the selection menu, in which you can choose between different modes: Arcade (an improved version of original japanese coin-op), Versus (the standard fight with two players), Quest (absolute new), Training (essential to master every fighter), Replay, and Options.
Without need to investigate every part of this game that would require much time to write it, briefly is useful tell you about Quest and Training. I will begin with second one, for first time in one fighter you can to perform or trying to all the moves listed for every character in a very technical way. In training mode in fact you are opposed to Computer controlled robot that is put there almost still just for invite you to smash him following strictly buttons series you can easily read. This part is great because affords you to learn all the moves gradually from simplest moves pass through most difficult ones that require you great ability in button press. Your moves basic are punches (P), kicks (K), and taking. But true force is the ability to time your evading move and your guard (G) to hit then uncovered opposed. Many many moves require simultaneous press of punch kick or guard yet you have the comfortability to press 1 single button to perform contemporary respectively P+K, K+G, P+G and finally P+K+G, very cool!
Takings usually are performed with D-pad + P+G. Useless to say this combos of moves are devastating but often uncover you if failed. I reccomend you to use these moves carefully to not trap yourself in fury of blows of an agile opposed.
The new mode Quest Mode is the mode that affords you to
1: elevate character level experience (every character default from 10th kyu level)
2: unlock some bonus to buy to make more complete playing (wallpapers, emblems, win poses, VF1 models, oldVF1 stages, Durai [last boss] as playable, etc.)
3: chance to face bouts with predetermined ORDERS, that means you have to beat a particular mission to get a prize at the end in money or item.
4: the possibility to join fighting tournaments in which you have to classify yourself among first three positions to proceed another arcade.
The game as you can see is an experience to be tried to be truly believed. It is SEGA at its best, simple but complex, lasting but never disappointing. I think actually no fighter game can surpass this jewel for reasons explained.

rn

Presentation 9/10 (sweet)
Graphics 8.5/10 (not bad at all)
Sound 9/10 (nice music!)
Playability 10/10 (a great experience!)
Lasting Appeal 9.5/10 (huge challenges in training and in time but all worthy of)


More information about Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution
 
A+ Revolution report card
Views: 951 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution