More Reviews
REVIEWS Firefall Review
Repetitive gameplay makes this fall a little boring.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions Preview
Put up some movie glasses, because Geometry Wars is entering the third dimension.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14


LATEST FEATURES And I Was All "Hell Yeah I'll Play a New Dreamcast Game"
I just played a Dreamcast game that was released in... wait, 2014?

A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution Member Review for the PS2

By:
hurriflash
04/29/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Sega 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

 

rn

VF4 evo is probably the best fighter for PS2. It is complete, with a roster of 15 characters with different styles of fighting. the thing catch your eye is the incredible care to details in each field.
Since presentation you can understand what i mean. SEGA AM2 voice introduces you to the selection menu, in which you can choose between different modes: Arcade (an improved version of original japanese coin-op), Versus (the standard fight with two players), Quest (absolute new), Training (essential to master every fighter), Replay, and Options.
Without need to investigate every part of this game that would require much time to write it, briefly is useful tell you about Quest and Training. I will begin with second one, for first time in one fighter you can to perform or trying to all the moves listed for every character in a very technical way. In training mode in fact you are opposed to Computer controlled robot that is put there almost still just for invite you to smash him following strictly buttons series you can easily read. This part is great because affords you to learn all the moves gradually from simplest moves pass through most difficult ones that require you great ability in button press. Your moves basic are punches (P), kicks (K), and taking. But true force is the ability to time your evading move and your guard (G) to hit then uncovered opposed. Many many moves require simultaneous press of punch kick or guard yet you have the comfortability to press 1 single button to perform contemporary respectively P+K, K+G, P+G and finally P+K+G, very cool!
Takings usually are performed with D-pad + P+G. Useless to say this combos of moves are devastating but often uncover you if failed. I reccomend you to use these moves carefully to not trap yourself in fury of blows of an agile opposed.
The new mode Quest Mode is the mode that affords you to
1: elevate character level experience (every character default from 10th kyu level)
2: unlock some bonus to buy to make more complete playing (wallpapers, emblems, win poses, VF1 models, oldVF1 stages, Durai [last boss] as playable, etc.)
3: chance to face bouts with predetermined ORDERS, that means you have to beat a particular mission to get a prize at the end in money or item.
4: the possibility to join fighting tournaments in which you have to classify yourself among first three positions to proceed another arcade.
The game as you can see is an experience to be tried to be truly believed. It is SEGA at its best, simple but complex, lasting but never disappointing. I think actually no fighter game can surpass this jewel for reasons explained.

rn

Presentation 9/10 (sweet)
Graphics 8.5/10 (not bad at all)
Sound 9/10 (nice music!)
Playability 10/10 (a great experience!)
Lasting Appeal 9.5/10 (huge challenges in training and in time but all worthy of)


More information about Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution
 
A+ Revolution report card
Views: 943 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution