More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Blacksite: Area 51 Member Review for the PS3

kingobling By:
kingobling
12/12/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Midway Games 
DEVELOPER Midway Studios - Austin 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

If I play a game, its because it's worth something.  Maybe not very much, but its worth the 6-10 hours of gameplay, getting my mind away from work and school.  I played and finished Blacksite Area 51, with little excitement i might add.  But all this game is, is a playable one, not one that pumps and primes you up. 

There are just too many problems with this game.  As you read in the GR review, there are several wall glitches and anti gravity guns that remain midair, but i felt it was worse.  Sometimes just moving around would sometimes cause stutters, kinda like when i played old school games like 'Mask of eternity' on my first intel pentium II computer.  This is unexceptable for PS3 and Xbox360.  Also, seeing the baddies pop out of thin air like the great gazoo!!??, thats not next-gen, thats 'mask of eternity' generation.  Graphics are a little less than i expected, seeing as Midway used unreal technology to make this game. Seeing pixelated shadows on a 1080p television just doesn't cut it.  The graphics remind me of  when i played 'mask of..... ok not quite that bad, but could use some little touch ups. 

Its not all bad, some level designs are new to me, maybe not to others.  It is a shooter game, and shooting up bad guys just never gets boring.  Bad soldiers, mutated monster, ant-lions, it doesnt matter to me, if i can shoot it its fun.  AI could use a little work, but doable. The baddies take cover which is good, although i can still clearly shoot them, which is not.

But like i said, this game is just doable/playable.  All in all, this is a game where one would say "i'm really freakin' bored and i have nothing to do...oh hell ill just rent Blacksite Area51 for some distraction" kinda game.  I give it a C-, with its abundance of problems vs. decent graphics and AI, its just a little less then even a moderate game.


More information about Blacksite: Area 51
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 1201 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus