More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Bulletstorm Member Review for the PS3

UghRochester By:
UghRochester
02/27/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Epic Games, People Can Fly 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Say it, and then spray it!
 
You have badass weapons, now use them. Kill them with skill and make sure that the bloodlust travel through each and every vein! Yes sir!
 
In Bulletstorm, you are Grayson Hunt, an alcoholic space pirate with a bounty and thirst to avenge his team that was betrayed by General Serrano. Grayson is a massively buff man that looks like Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine, and a voice that you would think to be Marcus Fenix. Sorry, John DiMaggio didn’t do his voice. Weirdly, Steven Blum who did the voice of Wolverine in animated series is Hunt. Along your side to kill this son of the b*tch, is Ishi Sato. Sato is your only friend left of Dead Echo, who had to become cyborg after crash landing and saving him on an unknown planet. The alliance between you two is not that great, and it’s even worst when Sato can’t control his A.I. side. Even if you two aren’t close pals, avenging your team’s lives and getting Serrano back is your main objective. Serrano is on this planet somewhere, and he’s not going away empty handed.
 
While investigating and searching the planet for Serrano, you’re going to be encountering a bunch of hostiles, hostiles that sure love bullets. You’re going to come across, extremely-mutated mutants, man-eating plants, and even this giant monster that you might think it resembles Godzilla. All these ugly looking creatures need to die one way or another. To kill these hideous looking things, you get decisions to make. Do you want to blow them into bits? If you want to, go ahead but I don’t think that takes much skill. “Skill points” is what we’re trying to get. The more creative you kill something. The more you get skill points. These points help you out in the long-run by giving you more weapons to choose from. So instead of just blowing something up, be creative and try out one of my favorites called, “mercy” Mercy is when you shoot someone right in the balls and shoot their heads off while they’re crying in agony. Brutal it is, and so hilarious.
 
How about the environment of this game? This game looks like one giant Jacinto from the Gears of War series. The “green glowing radiation” that you will stumble upon looks exactly like the immulsion from the Gears of War series. The art is so similar to Epic’s other games, it’s just a little sad.
 
I don’t even know how to explain the plot. The story is so basic. Everything is predictable in my opinion. A few twist every now and then, but you might be able to predict it better than what I did. What I liked about it, was the cheesy adult humor they throw into it. Cursing like sailors and the unique ways kill something had me rolling on the floor laughing my ass off. Yes, I enjoyed the humor in it, but the story was short and repetitive. Like Gears of Wars, they ended the game with a cliff-hanger, and a surprise at the end of the credits.
 
The online multi-playing should be changed to online co-op. There’s anarchy mode which is basically survival mode. You get to fight off waves and try to survive. Teamwork is much needed since you have to get a decent enough score in order to move on. One downfall is playing teaming up with little kids that mommies and daddies will buy for the rotten little brats…err I mean for the nice sons and daughters. And there’s Echoes mode, if you want to compete with friends in something in this game. You can try this mode out and experience different parts of the campaign once again. Whether you like that sort of competition is up to you.
 
The multi-playing isn’t that great. The campaign is pretty solid, but it’s repetitive. Adult humor and the unique violent ways to kill in this game is what really made Bulletstorm. The majority of the people who are buying this game, will probably be those who want the Gears of War 3 Beta. That is why I’m going to give this game a “B”
 
+ Adult language
+ Shooting the balls
+ Cool ways to kill someone
+/- You can tell it’s an Unreal Engine
+/- Gears of War 3 Beta (Xbox 360 only)
- Gets Repetitive
- Lacks multi-playing
- Short story


More information about Bulletstorm
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 801 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus